Phi Beta Kappa Furman University

Phi Beta Kappa

Founded in 1776 during the American Revolution, Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Its campus chapters induct the most outstanding students at America’s leading colleges and universities, and only about 10 percent of the nation’s institutions of higher education have Phi Beta Kappa chapters.

The Gamma Chapter of South Carolina was established at Furman University in 1973, but its quest to host a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa began forty-six years earlier. After the founding of two local honor societies (Zetosophia by the faculty of the Greenville Woman’s College in 1917 and Hand and Torch by the faculty of Furman University in 1927), Furman began triennial applications to host a chapter of the Society in 1927. Its applications were not successful until 1973, when the Gamma Chapter of South Carolina was installed on December 5. The Chapter initiated its first members in course and its first alumnus member, Charles Hard Townes ’35, Nobel laureate in physics, on April 23, 1974.


Students are considered for election to Phi Beta Kappa on the basis of scholarly achievements in the liberal arts and sciences, broad cultural interests and good character. Students exemplifying the qualities and intellectual pursuits of Phi Beta Kappa are invited to join the society during the spring of their senior year, but a small number of outstanding members of the junior class may also be invited. The members are inducted during a special initiation ceremony and dinner on campus in the spring. Meet the initiates.


Name Position Department
Liz Bouzarth President Mathematics
Linda Bartlett Vice President Modern Languages & Literatures
Patricia Sasser Secretary Library
Greg Lewis Treasurer Biology
John Barrington Historian History


Resident Members

The chapter includes more than 60 faculty and staff members.
Meet the resident members.