News from campus and beyond

Student leaders ‘make Furman proud’

Last updated April 13, 2022

By Jerry Salley '90, Senior Writer

“It has been an absolute joy to watch these amazing young Furman student leaders flourish during their time at Furman,” said Kim Keefer, director of the Shucker Center for Leadership Development.

Forty of those students, along with one student organization, one faculty advisor and one program, were presented with Student Leadership Awards on March 20 in Younts Conference Center.

A panel comprised of students, faculty and staff representing a variety of functional areas on campus selected the winners in 19 categories for the university-wide recognition event. The recipients’ names will also appear on continuing award plaques displayed on the leadership wall in the Trone Student Center.

The annual event is coordinated by the Division of Student Life and is hosted by the Shucker Center for Leadership Development. This year’s event was followed by a reception with family and friends at the DeSantis Pavilion.

“Those who mentor, guide, teach and support them through their Furman Pathway experiences are privileged to have the opportunity to celebrate and honor these students who have made significant contributions to the Furman, Greenville and global communities,” said Keefer. “We know they will continue to make Furman proud as they impact their world.”



Boundary-Breaker Program of the Year
Order of Furman Theatre – New Works Festival – Emily Enlow

Max and Trude Heller Commitment to Community Award
Hamp Sisson ’22

Student Organization of the Year
First Generation Student Alliance

Student Organization Advisor of the Year
Danielle Vinson, advisor for The Paladin

Unsung Hero Awards
Callum Allison ’23, Dennis Cheeks ’22, Abigail Magoola ’22 and Andrea Rojas ’22

Winston Babb Memorial Awards
Price St. Clair ’22, Brooke Dominiak ’23, Frances North ’24 and Emerson Gray ’25

Alfred S. Reid Memorial Awards
Willie Cornish ’22, Taryn Marks ’23, Sammy Damesek ’24 and Ellis Edinkrah ’25

The Leverette Sustainability Award
Caroline Vickey ’22

Willard A. Metcalf Personal Character Award
Duval McCoy ’22

Dan Joyner Outstanding Athletic Leader Awards
Alex Hunter ’22 and Ellie Roser ’22

Lillian Brock-Flemming Award
Jenny Yue ’22

Joseph Vaughn Award
Clinton Washington ’22

Joan Lipscomb Award
Edith Olivera Bautista ’23

Furman’s Hall of Leaders Awards for Excellence in Service and Leadership
Emma Berger ’22, Sherrill Brantley ’22, Emily Enlow ’22, Christine Fasana ’22, Sam Gary ’22, Isabella Gutierrez ’22, LeNae Jones ’22, Rosie Kim ’22, Riya Misal ’22, Queen Trapp ’22, Drew Warner ’22 and Drew Washington ’22

American Legion Awards
Erica Daly ’22 and Joshua Germany ’22

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award
Morgen Smith ’22

Rosa Mary Bodkin Award
Nathaniel Kapoor ’23

Harry B. Shucker Outstanding Student Leader Awards
Blake Buehler 22 and Kristin Nauman 22

The President’s Awards
Asha Marie Larson-Baldwin ’22 and Addison Smith 22


Last updated April 13, 2022
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
Director of News and Media Strategy