Media gallery

From June 17 to 21, the Riley Institute welcomed its inaugural class of Advantage Scholars to Furman’s campus. These incoming Furman freshmen are recipients of the Duke, Hollingsworth, Lay and Townes academic scholarships. They spent four days on campus listening to speakers, discussing critical issues with their peers, and exploring their community. With four fabulous counselors, they also had lots of fun and began building bonds that will last them throughout their time at Furman and beyond.

Meet the Scholars

Duke Scholars

Price St. Clair, Watauga High, Boone, NC
Lindsey Cottle, James Bowie High, Austin, TX
Morgen Smith, Berwick Academy, Dover, NH
Maddie Klumb, Henry Clay High, Lexington, KY
Sam Reid Gary, Myers Park High, Charlotte, NC

Hollingsworth Scholars

Erica Daly, Fort Mill High, Tega Cay, SC
Amber Jacobsen, Fort Mill High, Tega Cay, SC
Nick Curcio, Academic Magnet High, Charleston, SC
Lauren Allen, Christ Church Episcopal High, Greenville, SC
Maddie Tedrick, Governor’s School for the Arts, Greenville, SC

Lay Scholars

Shae Rivers-Green, Orangeburg Wilkinson High, North, SC
Maya Dunn, Breck School, Minneapolis, MN

Townes Scholars

Alana Miller, Severn School, Annapolis, MD
Rorie Vander Ploeg, Oregon High, Oregon, WI
Michael Bowling, Brentwood Academy, Nashville, TN
Leanne Joyce, Carrboro High, Chapel Hill, NC
Maggie Welsh, Richard J. Reynolds High, Winston Salem, NC