News from campus and beyond

Students and organizations earn Leadership Awards

Last updated May 6, 2021

By Furman News

Thirty-six students, two student organizations, one staff member and one program were presented with Student Leadership Awards on April 11 in Younts Conference Center.

A panel comprised of students, faculty and staff representing a variety of functional areas on campus selected the winners in 18 categories for the university-wide recognition event. The award recipients’ names are also engraved on continuing award plaques, which are displayed on the leadership wall in the Trone Student Center. The annual event is coordinated by the Division of Student Life and is hosted by the Shucker Center for Leadership Development.

“It is an honor for Furman University to celebrate student leaders who have made significant contributions to the Furman, Greenville and global communities,” said Kim Keefer, director of the Shucker Center for Leadership Development. “These students have embraced The Furman Advantage and accepted the opportunities and the challenges that come with choosing to lead and serve others.”


Boundary Breaker Program of the Year
Paladin Pitch – Furman Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Max and Trude Heller Commitment to Community Award
PanHellenic Council – Girl Up Greenville

Student Organization of the Year
Furman University News Channel

Student Organization Advisor of the Year
Rolyn Rollins

Unsung Hero Awards
Brittany Austin ’21, Kirsten Baker ’21, Tingtong Liu ’21 and Ingrid Ramos Rivera ’21

Winston Babb Memorial Awards
Drew Singerman ’21, Hamp Sisson ’22, Kimberly Kiepek ’23 and Araceli Cooper ’24

Alfred S. Reid Memorial Awards
Abby Mathai ’21, Syndey Beason ’22, Katherine McCann ’23 and Sam Dayton ’24

The Leverette Sustainability Award
Elise Dudley ’21

Willard A. Metcalf Personal Character Award
Joshua Butler ’21

C. Dan Joyner Outstanding Athletic Leader Awards
Tierra Hodges ’22 and Elijah McKoy ’21

Lillian Brock-Flemming Award
Jiayi Zeng ’21

Joseph Vaughn Award
Makala Fuller ’21

Joan Lipscomb Award
Asha Marie Larson-Baldwin ’22

Furman’s Hall of Leaders Awards for Excellence in Service and Leadership
Allyson Stevens ’21, Rachel Moss ’21, Jenny Vung ’21, Kristen Janes ’21, David Lewis ’21, Courtney Patterson ’21, Nan Perry ’21, Cole Neely ’21, Tityana Watts ’21 and Evan Myers ’21

American Legion Awards
Charlie Lott ’21 and Avery Whitehead ’21

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award
Austin Green ’21

Harry B. Shucker Outstanding Student Leader Awards
Barrett Taylor ’21 and Griffin Mills ’21

The President’s Awards
Renee Neves ’21 and Qwameek Bethea ’21

Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
Director of News and Media Strategy