News from campus and beyond

APEC 2017: Climate change mitigation requires joint efforts

Da Nang

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a regional economic forum established in 1989 to leverage the growing interdependence of the Asia-Pacific. And every year since 2002, Furman’s Riley Institute has sent a delegation to the annual meeting of the 21-member group. A Vietnam News Agency reporter caught up with Peyton Roth ’19, an APEC Voices of the Future delegate and CEO Summit attendee. The chemistry/political science double major believes battling climate change by reducing carbon and cleaning up the environment is a necessary step to promote sustainable and inclusive growth throughout the region. “I think our economies have a wonderful shared future and we are taking steps towards promoting sustainable growth,” said Roth.

APEC members include Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong (China), Indonesia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, the United States, and Vietnam. The region represents 39 percent of the world’s population, 57 percent of the world’s GDP and 47 percent of total trade.


Last updated November 17, 2017
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director