News from around the
lake and beyond
Furman News

Furman Board of Trustees approves faculty promotions, grants tenure at spring meeting

APRIL 21, 2012
by Vince Moore, Media Relations

GREENVILLE, S.C.—During its spring meeting Saturday, the Furman University Board of Trustees approved promotions and/or tenure for nine faculty members and recognized the contributions of 10 board members whose terms will expire this summer.

Those promoted to the rank of full professor were Carmela Epright (Philosophy), Ronald Friis (Modern Languages and Literatures) and Angela Halfacre (Earth and Environmental Sciences and Political Science).  Halfacre was also awarded tenure.

Those receiving tenure and promoted to the rank of associate professor were Karen Buchmueller (Chemistry), Brian Goess (Chemistry), Allison Hurst (Sociology) and Greg Springsteen (Chemistry).

DebbieLee Landi was promoted to the rank of full librarian, and Jennifer Colvin was promoted to associate librarian.

The board also granted emeritus status to three retiring professors — Stanley Crowe (English), John Poole (Mathematics) and Hayden Porter (Computer Science).

All promotions, tenure and emeritus status become effective Aug. 1.

The board recognized 10 trustees whose terms will expire June 30.  Those leaving the board are Merl Code of Greenville, Angela Franklin of West Des Moines, Iowa, Ed Good of Greenville, Francie Heller of Greenwich, Conn., Gordon Herring of Greenville, Celeste Patrick of Charleston, Buddy Puckett of Greenville, Richard Riley of Greenville, Stewart Spinks of Greenville and Lizanne Thomas of Atlanta, Ga.

For more information, contact Furman’s News and Media Relations office at 864-294-3107.

Last updated March 14, 2016
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director