An Innovative Solution

The idea for Furman’s Shared Equity Leadership Team (SELT) is based on a proposal from Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusive Excellence Cynthia King; Associate Dean and Director of the Center for Inclusive Communities Franklin Ellis; and the co-chairs of the DEI Committee, Robyn Andrews and Lisa Knight.

While Furman has made significant progress in advancing diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging, this innovative shared leadership approach takes advantage of the strong leadership we already have in place and focuses their efforts on planning, coordinating and assessing our progress in DEIB.

You may contact SELT members at