Furman belltower

University Leadership

Furman University is a private liberal arts college accredited to award bachelor’s, master’s and education specialist degrees by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges. It is governed by the board of trustees, which provides oversight and guidance to the institution’s administrative leaders. With 36 members and 8 trustees emeriti, the board is responsible for reviewing the long-term strategies, operations and performance of the university.

Overseen by the board, Furman is led by President Elizabeth Davis. Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost George C. Shields, four academic deans and seven senior administrators manage Furman’s academic and administrative departments.

Front gates and fountains of Furman

Private Liberal Arts College
in South Carolina

Office of the President

An accomplished and seasoned leader, Elizabeth Davis is Furman's 12th President.

Meet the President
President Davis at convocation
Furman Administration building cuppola

Academic Affairs

The Office of Academic Affairs oversees all areas of faculty and academic support.

Visit Academic Affairs

Board of Trustees

The Furman University Board of Trustees provides leadership and guidance to the university.

Meet our board
Ken Peterson speaks at podium

Senior Administrators

Furman's administrative operations are managed under the leadership of twelve senior administrators.

Meet our administrators