Support The Hill Institute
Join The Movement

Leadership Council

Leadership Council Members are champions of innovation and entrepreneurship at Furman University. Council members serve as mentors to students and liaisons to the local, regional and national entrepreneurial ecosystem.


  • REED BROWN Vice President, Brown Packing Co.
  • DAVID BURTON President & CEO, Burton Holdings
  • KEVIN BYRNE President & CEO, The University Financing Foundation**
  • KEN CLEMENS President & CEO, URL Insurance Group
  • RICHARD CULLEN Senior Partner, McGuire Woods, LLP**
  • GARY DAVIES CEO, CAPE Asset Management
  • DILLON DIEFFENBACH Principled Leader, EY
  • AMY DIEFFENBACH Private Investor
  • DAVE ELLISON Wealth Advisor, Northwestern Mutual**
  • GORDON FORD Founder/Chairman, CrossLink
  • NEAL FREEMAN CEO, Competitive Social Ventures, LLC
  • SEAN HARTNESS CEO, Hartness Development, Inc.
  • DAVID HAUSER Retired Chairman & CEO, FairPoint Comm., Inc.**
  • ROBERT HENRY CEO; Pierian Biosciences
  • ROBERT HILL Retired Vice Chair, Acosta**
  • MARSHALL HILL Director, Invest Operations at SoFi
  • MARK KAISER External Advisor, Bain & Co.
  • LOU KENNEDY CEO/Co-Founder, Nephron Pharmaceuticals
  • RAYMOND KING President & CEO, Zoo Atlanta
  • LES KNIGHT Retired Partner, Ernst & Young LLP
  • JAIME LANIER Trustee, Ray C. Anderson Foundation**
  • TODD MALO Co-Founder & Managing Partner, Mavin Construction
  • SUZANNE MALO Director, DHG Search Advisors
  • RON MALONE PE Operating Partner, Shore Capital Partner
  • METT MILLER Executive Managing Director, Savills Studley
  • TRACI MILLER Psychologist PhD, Assessment Services
  • JOHN PAZDAN CEO, Roy Metal Finishing
  • KATHRYN PHILLIPS Founder & Managing Director, Kaina Strategic Counsel
  • KEVIN PHILLIPS Partner & COO, Jarrard Phillips Cate & Hancock
  • JEFF POWELL General Manager Americas, BioSerenity
  • JASON RICHARDS Global Business Director, NAI Earle Furman
  • NORM RICHARDSON President, Anchor Power Solutions
  • LEIGHAN RINKER Founder & Chair, Beginnings of Palm Beach County**
  • CHRISS SPIRES Partner, BKS Partners
  • PAUL STASKO President/Founder, Exceptional Software
  • SANDY STASKO Product Manager, Exceptional Software
  • TOM SWAIN Principal, Findley
  • ALEC TAYLOR Retired CEO/Chairman, FGX International**
  • ROB VICTOR Principal, Foster Victor Wealth Advisors
  • KEM WILSON III Principal, Kemmons Wilson Companies
  • JOHN YATES Partner, Morris, Manning & Martin LLC**

**Furman Board of Trustee

Associate Members

Associate members champion the student experience in innovation and entrepreneurship at Furman University, providing financial support for Paladin Pitch Competition grant awards and internship opportunities for students.
  • JUSTIN ALBRIGHT Principal, OakPoint Real Estate
  • RACHEL ALBRIGHT Strategic Consultant, The Ingram Group
  • MATTHEW BROWN Vice President, Shore Capital Partners
  • SARAH BUDD VP Finance, The Budd Group
  • KENNETH FIELDS Partner/Co-Founder, BlueInc Strategies
  • JAIRY HUNTER Medical Director, naviHealth
  • BRIAN JOHNSTON Chief Investment Officer & Managing Partner, Fortwright Wealth Management
  • WILL LUCAS Investor, Purple Heels
  • MATT MARRON President, StaffTrack, Inc.
  • MATTHEW CESARI Financial Advisor, Northwestern Mutual
  • KATHRYN CESARI Investment Banker, William Blair

Community Partners