Riley Fellows in the News: January 13, 2021

Among those elected or reelected to public office in South Carolina are: Alfred Mae Drakeford (Midlands, Spring 2010), mayor of Camden; Gayla McSwain (Lowcountry, Spring 2007), Goose Creek City Council member; Samuel Murray (Lowcountry, Fall 2012), mayor of Port Royal; Stephen Murray (Lowcountry, Fall 2013), mayor of Beaufort; Liz Seman (Upstate, Spring 2006), Greenville County Council member; and Mary Tinkler (Lowcountry, Fall 2018), Charleston County Treasurer.

Felicia Howard (Midlands, Fall 2007) is now Dominion Energy’s vice president of economic development strategy. Read more.

Eric Jarinko (Upstate, Fall 2019) leads the Greenville Drive, which received Baseball America’s 2020 Bob Freitas Award. Read more.

Jennifer Parker (Upstate, Spring 2018) has joined the Spartanburg Academic Movement. Read more.

Scott Sasser (Upstate, Fall 2016), CEO of Prisma Health Medical Group, was awarded the Healthcare Transformation Charitable Giving Award. Read more.

Tim Scott (Lowcountry, Spring 2007), United States Senator, was named the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce Public Servant of the Year. Read more.

Carl Sobocinski (Upstate, Spring 2017), Table 301 restaurant group owner, was awarded the Visionary Leadership Charitable Giving Award. Read more.

Breon Walker (Midlands, Spring 2015), partner with Gallivan White Boyd, was elected president of the South Carolina Black Lawyers Association. Read more.

Join us virtually on February 5 for the thirteenth annual Law & Society symposium, presented by the Riley Institute and the Charleston Law Review. Examining sexual abuse and sex trafficking law, the event will feature two dozen speakers including Kristen Gibbons, who served as a special prosecutor in the Bill Cosby trial; Bridie Farrell, an Olympic speedskater- turned survivor advocate; and Kathryn Moorehead, director of the South Carolina Human Trafficking Task Force. Learn more and register.