Leadership Awards

Every spring, the Shucker Center for Leadership Development and the Division of Student Life host the Student Leadership Awards and Recognition Night. This reception honors Furman’s finest and brightest student leaders and organizations for their leadership roles and service. We present awards in 17 different categories, and recipients are also recognized on a plaque in the Trone Student Center.


purple arrow

Our Awards

Award Winners

The 2023 Award Recipients
  • Harry B. Shucker Outstanding Student Leader Awards: Botamina Mahrous Sorial and Alex Bussom
  • Lillian Brock-Flemming Award: Jada Zaurice Walker
  • Joesph Vaughn Award: Miles Jacob Baker
  • Max and Trude Heller Commitment to Community Award: Ashley Tillman
  • Dan Joyner Outstanding Athletic Leader Awards: Cameron Ponder  and Camryn Bolick                          
  • The Leverette Sustainability Award: Marie Louise Cecil
  • Willard A. Metcalf Personal Character Award: Louisa Brown
  • Student Organization of the Year: Furman University Equestrian Team
  • Student Organization Advisor of the Year: Cleve Fraser and Rod Kelley



  • Unsung Hero Awards: Myla Crosby, Xavier Johnson , Conor Riordan  and Sophia Elizabeth Shaw
  • Boundary-Breaker Program of the Year: Purple Diamonds
  • The President’s Awards: Abijah Leamon  and Bryce Stanfield (in memoriam)
  • American Legion Medals: Denison Harmon Jones and Jaeyden Hill-Mims
  • Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award: Lydia Ruth McCarty
  • Alfred S. Reid Memorial Awards: Anita Wanjiku Mwangi , Katie Rudins, Emmeline Barth and Sophia Marie Anthony
  • Winston Babb Memorial Awards: Elizabeth Adams, Mia Mantovani, Sara Isabel Snyder Melendez  and Saluda Abigail Stapleton
  • Hall of Leaders: Colin Brake, Rebecca Jane Copeland, Sammy Damesek, Adrian González, Rohan Halloran, Lillian Meyer, Abigail A Miller, Christian Jamar Newman,  Regan Richardson, Alexis Rojas, Haley Simone Shadburn, and Araceli Ubl

Award Nominations

Faculty, staff, and students may nominate individuals or groups for consideration in 19 categories