News from campus and beyond

Faculty promotions and tenure approved by Furman University Board of Trustees

The Janie Earle Furman Rose Garden at Furman in the spring.

Last updated May 24, 2023

By News administrator

The Furman University Board of Trustees approved promotions and tenure for a number of faculty members during its spring meeting on May 12, 2023.

Seven faculty members were granted tenure and promotion to the rank of associate professor: Karen E. Allen (earth, environmental, and sustainability sciences), Roy Bower (mathematics), Kelsey C. Hample (economics), Casey Hawthorne (mathematics), Mohammed Taha Kasim (economics), Jeffrey A. Michno (modern languages and literatures) and Adam L. Putnam (psychology).

Seven faculty members were promoted to the rank of professor: Mary Elizabeth Anderson (chemistry), Maegan M. Azar (theatre arts), Gretchen Anna Braun (English), Elizabeth Bouzarth Foster (mathematics), Lane J. Harris (history), Stephanie M. Knouse (modern languages and literatures) and Eunice Rojas (modern languages and literatures).

Adam S. Richards (communication studies) and Sue Samuels (Music) were granted tenure.

Seven faculty members were awarded Emeritus Professor status: Paula S. Gabbert (computer science), Nelly J. Hecker (education), Harry Kuoshu (Asian studies), Adrian P. Massei (modern languages and literatures), Charles B. Tompkins (music), David Turner (physics) and Laura L. Wright (chemistry).

All promotions and tenure will be effective Aug. 1, 2023.

Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
Director of News and Media Strategy