Fellows in Residence

Bringing prominent thinkers and leaders to campus to involve students and the community in dialogue around critical emerging issues, the Fellows in Residence program showcases the Institute’s deep commitment to Furman’s engaged learning approach. Fellows in Residence teach classes, give public addresses, meet with students individually or in groups, meet with citizens in the Greenville area and around the state and generally share their knowledge and experiences with the academic community and the public.

Riley Institute Fellows in Residence have included:

Prime Ministers

Kim Campbell, Canada
Wlodzemierz Cimoszewicz, Poland

United States Ambassadors

Derek Sherer, Finland
Thomas Boyatt, Burkina Faso and Colombia
James Lilley, China
Phil Lader, United Kingdom
Madeleine Kunin, Switzerland


Madeleine Kunin, Vermont
Christine Todd Whitman, New Jersey
John Baldacci, Maine


Max Heller; Greenville, SC
Deedee Corradina; Salt Lake City, UT
Glenda Hood; Orlando, FL
Eibhlin Byrne; Dublin, Ireland

Plus, a variety of journalists, academicians, community activities, and political experts from around the world.


2020 Fellow in Residence: Angela Maria Kelley
Woodrow Wilson Fellow in Residence Angela Maria Kelley Public Address:...
2018: Roberta Metsola
Fellow in Residence Roberta Metsola Member of European Parliament (MEP)...
2018: Jeffrey Ball
Woodrow Wilson Fellow in Residence Jeffrey Ball March 26 –...
2017: Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Fellow in Residence Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Black America...
2016: Nick Galasso
Woodrow Wilson Fellow in Residence Nick Galasso, Ph.D. “The Wealth...
2016: Deborah Malac
Fellow in Residence U. S. Ambassador Deborah Malac Ebola Crisis in...
2016: Peter Hart
Woodrow Wilson Fellow in Residence Peter D. Hart Leading Pollster...
2015: Robert Musil
Woodrow Wilson Fellow in Residence Robert Musil, Ph.D. President and...
2015: Women in Public Media
Politics and Media Women in Public Media February 9 –...
2014: Andrew Michta
Fellow in Residence Andrew Michta, Ph.D. M. W. Buckman Distinguished Professor of...