News from campus and beyond

Students serving students

Last updated March 29, 2018

By Tina Underwood

The mission of the Furman Student Government Association is to be a proactive governing body that represents Furman’s diverse student population and contributes to the positive development of the university community.

Furman SGA executive board elections took place March 1-2 and the returns are in for the 48th Executive Council. The newly elected members for 2018-19 are:

President: Will Sanders ’19 of Greenville, South Carolina
Major: Psychology, Pre-Health track

Vice President: Scott Finney ’19 of Baltimore, Maryland
Major: Biology

Treasurer: Prem Chockalingam ’19 of Columbia, South Carolina
Major: Biochemistry

Secretary: Caroline Tucker ’19 of Baltimore, Maryland
Major: Communication Studies

Said current SGA President Jess Norum, “We are incredibly excited for the newly elected 48th council members. I am looking forward to seeing our new executive president, Will Sanders, lead this fantastic group for the 2018-2019 school year. He and his executive team have already started to collaborate to align SGA’s upcoming endeavors with The Furman Advantage.”

Furman SGA Class elections wrapped up on March 27. Class officers elected for 2018-19 are:

Class of 2019
President: Mary Morrow of Rocky Face, Georgia
Vice President: Shania Gaspard of Chicago, Illinois
Treasurer: Morgan Fretwell of St. Augustine, Florida
Secretary: Bailey Votto of Ardmore, Pennsylvania

Class of 2020
President: Brooke O’Neill of Belchertown, Massachusetts
Vice President: Barrie Clark of Raleigh, North Carolina
Treasurer: Emily Tuten of Columbia, South Carolina
Secretary: Jaylon Goodwin of Greenville, South Carolina

Class of 2021
President: Sofia Groves of Allentown, Pennsylvania
Vice President: Nan Perry of Greensboro, North Carolina
Treasurer: Cameron Langsett of Norcross, Georgia
Secretary: Max Dudley of Phenix City, Alabama

For more information, contact Jessica M. Berkey-Barnes, Director of Student Involvement & Inclusion, 864-294-2068, or

Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
Director of News and Media Strategy