News from campus and beyond

New Student Government Association officers sworn in

Last updated October 11, 2022

By Furman News

After elections in mid-September filled out the roster, 22 students were sworn in to serve in the Student Government Association for the 2022-2023 academic year.

SGA’s mission is “to be a proactive governing body that represents Furman’s diverse student population and contributes to the positive development of the university community,” according to the organization’s constitution. “We are students serving students.”

SGA consists of six executive officers and four representatives for each class. Their duties include representing the student body in all matters affecting student interest; exercising general supervision over all student activities; receiving, ratifying and filing the constitutions of student organizations; and enacting and revising the laws of the student body, according to the constitution.

The term of office for all members will run for the entire 2022-2023 academic year.

Executive Officers

  • President: Josh Swope ’23, communication studies major, rhetoric and advocacy track
  • Vice President: Meredith Ervin ’24, philosophy major
  • Treasurer: Emmaline Hardin-Parker ’23 public health major
  • Secretary: Karisha Brown ’24, chemistry major, biochemistry track
  • Parliamentarian: Mia Freeman ’24, health sciences major
  • Academic Affairs: John Roper ’23, sustainability science major

Senior Class Representatives

  • Josephine Geraghty ’23, sustainability science major
  • James Lalonde ’23, health sciences major
  • Lauren Pollino ’23, French major
  • Virginia Wayt ’23, philosophy major

Junior Class Representatives

  • Caroline Brawley ’24, Chinese studies major
  • Chase Kuhlman ’24, business administration major
  • Lydia McCarty ’24, French major
  • Kelsey Sumter ’24, chemistry major, biochemistry track

Sophomore Class Representatives

  • Mary Boucher ’25, psychology major
  • Andrew Cooter ’25, sustainability science major
  • Yaseen Echekki ’25, undeclared major
  • Carly Gillis ’25, English major, writing track

First-Year Class Representatives

  • Joseph Kosak ’26, Spanish major
  • Mariam Nguyen ’26, undeclared major
  • Sophie Swann ’26, undeclared major
  • Carly Wilkes ’26, undeclared major
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
Director of News and Media Strategy