News from campus and beyond

Faculty promotions and tenure approved by Furman University Board of Trustees

The Furman University Board of Trustees approved promotions and tenure for a number of faculty members during its spring meeting on May 14, 2022.

Eleven faculty members were granted tenure and promotion to the rank of associate professor: Ruth Aronoff (Earth, environmental and sustainability sciences), Nathan Brown (modern languages and literatures), Anna Cass (health sciences), Srikripa Chandrasekaran (biology), Shaniece Criss (health sciences), Adi Dubash (biology), Alexander Francis-Ratte (Asian studies), Elizabeth Holt (health sciences), Michael May (art), M. Scott Murr (health sciences) and Eric Sobolewski (health sciences).

Six faculty members were promoted to the rank of professor: Omar Carmenates (music), Jessica Hennessey (economics), Brandon Inabinet (communication studies), Kyle Longest (sociology), Ashley Morris (biology) and Mark Stone (philosophy).

Pamela Hanson, professor of biology, was granted tenure.

Ashley Morris (biology), was promoted to the rank of professor with tenure.

William Allen (modern languages and literatures), Samuel Britt (Asian studies and religion), Lorraine DeJong (education), Hugh Floyd (music) and Lynne Shackelford (English) were awarded Emeritus Professor status.

All promotions and tenure will be effective Aug. 1, 2022.

Last updated May 18, 2022
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director