News from campus and beyond

Furman Fellows Announce 2022 Recipients

Last updated March 28, 2022

By Jarrod Wiggins

The Furman Fellowship is an endowed scholarship fund founded in 2004 with a gift from Furman trustee emeritus Bob Buckman and Joyce Mollerup. Each year, five seniors are recognized as Furman Fellows and receive a scholarship to use toward the completion of their degree.

“My wife and I established Furman Fellows in order to recognize outstanding seniors who make a difference in the school or the lives of others, bring creativity and imagination to their daily lives, demonstrate problem-solving abilities and have the respect of their peers and faculty,” said Buckman. “Over the years, these senior students have been outstanding examples of the Furman student body. We are proud of each one of them and what they have accomplished.”

“The Class of 2022 Furman Fellows embody the spirit of this award and the mission of our university,” Beth Pontari, associate provost for engaged learning. “They are leaders, artists, advocates, scientists and pioneers. Each in their own way, they have contributed to the intellectual livelihood of our campus and to the thriving of our Furman and Greenville communities.”

The recipients of the 2020 Furman Fellowships are:

  • Henry Dambach: Henry, from Franklin, Tennessee, is double majoring in English literature and history. He’s an active member of Furman Singers, Pauper Players, Student Conduct Board and a Housing Segregation Fellow with The Shi Institute for Sustainable Communities. He also serves as the president of the Alpha Eta Eta chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, English Honor Society. He works as a student assistant with acquisitions in the James B. Duke Library and was described as polite, mature, motivated and “a bright light in everyone’s day” by the faculty who nominated him.
  • Riley Hughes: Riley, from Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, is majoring in women’s, gender, and sexuality Studies, Africana studies – humanities track and Psychology. She is the vice president of the Student Diversity Council, co-vice president of the Student Justice Forum, a student representative on the LGBTQ+ Affairs sub-committee and as a peer leader in The Body Project. Riley also serves as an admissions ambassador, giving tours and welcoming prospective students to Furman. Riley was described as unwavering in her dedication to creating an inclusive campus for all, dedicated to her studies and the “consumate peer leader” by the faculty who nominated her.
  • Asha Marie Larson-Baldwin: Asha, from Greenville, South Carolina, is completing an individualized curriculum plan under the Communications Studies department with focuses on advocacy, justice and poverty studies and an African American and African Diaspora Cultures minor. Asha serves as the student body president, admissions ambassador, MOSAIC, Furman Justice Forum leader, Dins Dialogue facilitator and on the Orientation Staff. The faculty who nominated Asha described her as a leader in DEI efforts at Furman and within Greenville, “a powerfully engaged student” and a true leader who balances fun with important dialogue.
  • Caroline Vickery: Caroline, from Augusta, Georgia, is majoring in Earth Environmental and Sustainability Sciences. She serves as co-president of the Bartram Society, an Ecorep, president of the Reformed University Fellowship, Caroline was described as a quiet leader, incredibly intelligent and thoughtful in her academic journey and an “excellent team player” by the faculty who nominated her.
  • Clinton Washington: Clinton, from Lugoff, South Carolina, is majoring in music performance and information technology. Clinton serves on the Council on Equity & Inclusion in Music, is an Undergraduate Research Fellow, president of the Underrepresented Mentor Program, vice president of Furman’s NAACP chapter, senior peer ambassador with the Center for Engaged Learning and the president of the Furman Percussion Club. Additionally, he has written for The Paladin student newspaper. Clinton was described by the faculty who nominated him as a great contributor to music at Furman, highly respected by his professors and peers and “oozes creativity and imagination.”

The 2022 recipients will be honored during a luncheon on April 11, the day before Furman Engaged. Additionally, the 2023 recipients will be announced at that time.

Last updated March 28, 2022
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
Director of News and Media Strategy
How will you learn?