News from campus and beyond
Furman News

Graduating Seniors Recognized with Academic Awards

The Academic Awards Banquet is traditionally an annual event held to honor the accomplishments of our graduating seniors at Furman. This year, however, due to the pandemic, there were three smaller in-person awards ceremonies to allow for social distancing. The 2021 recipients of Furman academic awards are:


African American and African Diaspora Cultures  

Award for Excellence in African American and African Diaspora Cultures

Tityana Yvette Watts

Ancient Greek and Roman Studies

Award for Excellence in Ancient Greek and Roman Studies      

Shelby Lauren Sparks


Award for Excellence in Anthropology

Samantha Faye Hartley

Asian Studies

Faculty Award in Chinese

Grant James Sommers

Maximillian Henry Finch

Faculty Award in Japanese       

Carly Marlys Anderson

James B. Leavell Outstanding Work in Asian Studies     

Julia Elisabeth Freeman

Outstanding Work in Chinese Studies

William James Flanagan

Olivia Tracy

Outstanding Work in Japanese Studies

Nicole Janai Hartley

Samantha Faye Hartley


John Scott Murray Greek Prize

Mackense Greico

John Scott Murray Latin Prize  

Allyson Nicole Stevens

Communication Studies

Charles A. Batson Award          

Charles Cartmill Lott

Communication Studies Award for Excellence in Public Speaking & Debate      

Aleisha Brianna Patton

Endel Award for Excellence in Communication Studies

Erikah Haavie

Endel Medal for Excellence in Mass Communication    

Caroline Elizabeth Ring

Endel Medal for Excellence in Rhetoric and Oratory     

Addie Catherine Brown


Decherd Guess Scholarship

Carly Marlys Anderson

Katie Anne O’Neal

Pate American Literature Scholarship  

Cara Olivia Desisto

Pipkin English Award   

Sally Elizabeth Cannon

Roger Peace / L.D. Johnson Award       

Lizzie Jean Collins

Film Studies

Award for Excellence in Film Studies   

Autumn Caroline Hinze


Alumni Award for Academic Excellence in History       

Catherine Louise Jackson

Daughters of the American Revolution Prize in American History         

Katie Frances Wooten

Endel Memorial History Prize  

Andrew Newell Allen

Gilpatrick History Prize

Angie Rose Pantuosco


 Award for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Humanities Studies   

Haoyue Yang

Latin American Studies

Award for Excellence in Latin American Studies

Sarah Margaret Barnett

Modern Languages and Literatures

Cervantes Award in Spanish     

Ingrid Ramos Rivera

David Wells Morgan Award in French  

Scarlett Reagan Holton

Goethe Award in German        

Sophie Camille Klass

Award for Excellence in Linguistics/TESOL Minor

Nicole Janai Hartley


Excellence in Applied Philosophy Award

Mary Madison Terry

Qwameek Bethea

James C. Edwards Excellence in Philosophy Award       

Haoyue Yang


Baggott Excellence Award

Brittany Austin

Michaela Marcelle Aboutanos

Baggott Ministerial Award

Lauren Elizabeth Ghighi

John C. Shelley Award for Excellence in Fields of Theology and Ethics   

Riley Shane Taylor

Scholarly Achievement Award in Religion

Joshua Spencer Butler

Ashley Kathryn Godwin

Catherine Louise Jackson

Math and Science 


Beta Beta Beta General Excellence Award       

Mary Elise Nolen

Botany Award 

Zachary Tucker Buddie

  1. Leland Rodgers Biology Award

Katherine Michele Moseley

Madison Thomas

Distinguished Research in Biology Award

Emily Lupinacci


American Chemical Society Outstanding Senior Chemistry Major Award

Mitchel Scott Jensen

American Institute of Chemists Award in Biochemistry

Mary Jo McCormick

American Institute of Chemists Award in Chemistry     

Emma Nitzken

John Albert Southern Chemistry Award

Dahye Kim

Samantha Renee Gowen

Johnny Marion Owen, III

John Sampey Award in Chemistry

Makala Tanesse Fuller

Ashley Marie Weeks

Computer Science

Computing in Community Award

Alicia Erness Key

Caleb Dale Roberson

Kenneth C. Abernethy Award for Excellence in Computer Science

Ethan Owen Grantham

Bridget Nicole Kennerly

Earth, Environmental and Sustainability Sciences 

Earth and Environmental Sciences Research Award     

Christopher Burke Lipscomb

Earth and Environmental Sciences Scholar Award        

Jordan Mei-Lin Winiski

Sustainability Science Research Award

Emilia Benedict Hyland

Wallace C. Fallaw Outstanding Senior Award   

JohnPaul F. Sleiman

Environmental Studies

Award for Excellence in Environmental Studies

Mary Grace Albright

Rachel Sarah Moss

Health Careers – Pre-Health

Alpha Epsilon Delta Scholarship Award

Samantha Renee Gowen

Robert Emmett Allen Pre-medical Prize

Matthew Foster Smith


DeLany Medal in Mathematics

Emerald Lily Kuntz

Yutian Nan

Medicine, Health and Culture

Award for Excellence in Medicine, Health and Culture Studies

Madison Taylor Hurst


William Blaker Excellence in Neuroscience Award       

Anju Saxena


Award for Excellence in Physics

Melina Caroline Zaharias

Mary Paige Ouzts Senior Physics Award

Ian Lewis Maitland

Social Sciences

Business and Accounting 

Fred and June Current Accounting Award

Rebekah Elizabeth Drum

Carol Elizabeth Kerman

General Excellence in Business Award  

Sydney McDonald Parker

Lawrence Kessler Award for Excellence in Accounting  

Maggie Welsh

Sandy Roberson Outstanding Senior in Accounting Award        

Maryann Rompf


  1. Carlyle Ellett Economics Prize

Claire Eliese Conzelmann

Carly Nicole Holton

Mathematics Economics Award for Excellence

Rebekah Elizabeth Drum

Hallie Paige Miller


Outstanding Scholar and Leader in Education Award

Addie Catherine Brown

Ellie Goodman Greenfield

Health Sciences

Jerry R. Thomas Award in Health Sciences       

Andrew C. Singerman

Public Health Senior Award     

Cristina Elizabeth Bonnin

Ruth Reid Award         

Avery Brooks Whitehead

Military Science

Distinguished Military Graduate Award

Bradford Colt Woodhouse

Thomas Doerr


Mattie Hipp Cunningham Scholarship

Karen Mendes

Political Science

Henry P. Jones Political Science Medal

Andrew Newell Allen

Tom Feingold

Paula Harper Bethea Civic Engagement Award

Ingrid Ramos Rivera

Political Science Chair’s Award

Naomi Ladine

Evan Colby Myers

Political Science Faculty Award

Qwameek Bethea

Allyson Nicole Stevens

  1. Sidney Ulmer Political Science Medal

Julia Elisabeth Freeman

Poverty Studies

Award for Excellence in Poverty Studies

Jordan Harris

Camryn Elisabeth Douglass


Allport Scholar in Psychology

Nicole Greenfield

Abby Mathai

Brewer Scholar in Psychology  

Sydney Erin Kittrell

Burts Scholar in Psychology

Charlotte Ashton Maguire

Kathryn Ann Montgomery

Marshall Prevost Medal in Psychology

Austin Julian Green


David Redburn Award 

Daniel Aaron Sargent

Paul Kooistra Fellowship for Engaged Sociology            

Sloane Elizabeth Darby

Theatre Arts

Furman Theatre Guild Award

Clare Beth McConnell

Jamie Riedy

Dasya’ Young

Furman Theatre Most Valuable Player 

Mike J. Caterisano

Undergraduate Evening Studies

Frances Selby “Gig” Meredith Outstanding Student Award  

Monica Inwood Eslick

Joel Walter Satterthwaite

Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Award for Excellence in Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies        

Olivia Annabelle Glad

Last updated April 22, 2021
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director