News from campus and beyond

Fulbright grants awarded to three graduating seniors

Three 2019 Furman University graduating seniors have received Fulbright U.S. Student Program grants from the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.


Abby Harwell

The seniors are among over 2,100 U.S. citizens who will teach, conduct research and provide expertise abroad for the 2019-2020 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected based on academic and professional achievement as well as their record of service and leadership potential in their respective fields.

The recipients are:

Abigail (“Abby”) Harwell
Harwell is an English major/poverty studies minor from Clinton, South Carolina. With the grant from the Fulbright U.S. Student Program, she will serve as an English Teaching Assistant in Taiwan. She is the daughter of Blake and Dana Harwell of Clinton.


Bernie Chaney

Bernadette (“Bernie”) Chaney
Chaney is a neuroscience major with a concentration in German. Chaney, whose hometown is Sunbury, Pennsylvania, has received a Fulbright grant to be an English Teaching Assistant in Germany. Her parents are Eddie and Karen Chaney of Sunbury.


Yasmin Harrington

Yasmin Harrington
Harrington is a biology and German studies major from Cumming, Georgia. The daughter of John and Sabrina Harrington of Cumming, she has received a Fulbright grant to serve as an English Teaching Assistant in Germany.

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program and is designed to build lasting connections between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program, which operates in over 160 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given more than 390,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists and professionals of all backgrounds and fields the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbrighters address critical global challenges in all disciplines while building relationships, knowledge and leadership in support of the long-term interests of the United States. Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in many fields, including 59 who have been awarded the Nobel Prize, 84 who have received Pulitzer Prizes and 37 who have served as a head of state or government.

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit, or contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Press Office at 202-632-6452, and by emailing For further information about the Furman honorees, contact the Furman News and Media Relations office at 864-294-3107.

Last updated May 7, 2019
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director