News from campus and beyond

Lyric Theatre presents ‘She Loves Me’ Feb. 14 & 16

Furman University Lyric Theatre will present two showings of the musical “She Loves Me” Thursday, Feb. 14, and Saturday, Feb. 16, at 8 p.m. in McAlister Auditorium.

Directed by Furman’s Grant Knox, the musical is open to the public. Tickets are $15 for adults, $10 for seniors 60 and older, and $5 for students.

lyric theatre

Shalick Smith ’20, left, stars as Keller in “She Loves Me,” considered by many to be the most charming musical ever written.

An intimate and touching show, “She Loves Me” features music by Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick (“Fiddler on the Roof”) and book by Joe Masteroff (“Cabaret”). The beloved musical was nominated for five Tony Awards in 1964. The 1993 Broadway revival won the Olivier Award for Best Musical Revival and the Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Revival of a Musical. It won the 1994 Critics Circle Award for Best Musical.

Considered by many to be the most charming musical ever written, “She Loves Me” is a warm romantic comedy with an endearing innocence and a touch of old-world elegance. The story follows Georg and Amalia, two perfumery clerks who aren’t the best of friends. Constantly bumping heads while on the job, the sparring coworkers can’t seem to find common ground. But little do they know, the anonymous romantic pen pals they have both been falling for happen to be each other. Will love continue to blossom once their identities are finally revealed?

Furman faculty member and collaborative pianist Dewitt Tipton directs music for the performance.

Cast members for “She Loves Me” include:

Tyrese Byrd (Arpad Laszlo)
Ben Bagwell  (Ladislav Sipos)
Abbie Schlichtmann (Ilona Ritter)
Matthew Christopher (Steven Kodaly)
Patrick Fretwell (Georg Nowack)
Furman Professor of Music Hugh Floyd (Mr. Maraczek)
Kirby Burgess (Amalia Balash)
Shalick Smith (Keller)
Alan Smith (Waiter)
Laura Lynn Brickle (Customer No. 1)
Ellen Chamblee (Customer No. 2)
Katie Jennison (Customer No. 3)

Carolers and Couples include: Salleigh Harvey, Rachel Hughes, Quentin Prewitt, Maggie Ramirez, Addison Ballew, Liz Payton, Wallis Lucas, Benjamin Connelly, Raleigh Cothran, Micah Arms, Jack Wagner, McCrae Brown and John Potvin.

For more information, contact the Furman Music Office at 864-294-2086, and General admission tickets may be ordered through Eventbrite.

Last updated February 2, 2019
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director