News from around the
lake and beyond
Furman News

Furman to hold fall convocation Sept. 7 at 10 a.m.

Furman University will celebrate the beginning of the 2017-18 school year with its fall convocation Thursday, Sept. 7 at 10 a.m. in McAlister Auditorium.

Furman president Elizabeth Davis will preside as the university welcomes the freshman class and presents a number of major honors and awards.

The public is invited to attend.

The convocation address will be delivered by Dr. Ken Peterson, Furman’s Dean of the Faculty and Professor of Economics.

Dr. Nancy Powers, a 1977 Furman graduate and pediatric physician at Children’s Hospital in Greenville, will receive the Richard Furman Baptist Heritage Award.

The university will also recognize three individuals who received special honors at Furman’s May commencement. Furman Politics and International Affairs Professor Akan Malici received the Faculty Meritorious Award for Diversity & Inclusion, while the Staff Meritorious Award for Diversity & Inclusion was presented to Mike Winiski, Interim Executive Director of Community Engagement. Emma Zyriek, a 2017 Furman graduate, received the Rosa Mary Bodkin Award.

The university will also recognize five members of the senior class who have been named Furman Fellows for the current academic year. They are Maria Bartlett of Greenville, Logan Richardson of Elgin, Christina Sturgeon of Potomac, Md., Emma Winiski of Greenville, and Noah Zimmermann of Camden.

For more information, contact the Furman News and Media Relations office at (864) 294-3107.

Last updated August 5, 2022
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director