News from campus and beyond

Furman Faculty Present Chamber Music Jan. 13


Last updated December 20, 2016

By Tina Underwood

The Furman Faculty Chamber Music Series will present a concert Friday, Jan. 13, at 8 p.m. in Daniel Recital Hall on campus. A reception follows the recital.

The event is open to the public, and is part of Furman’s Sound Quality Concert Series. Tickets are $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, and $5 for students/youth.

The 90-minute concert is hosted by Furman Music Department Chair, Dr. Hugh Ferguson Floyd. It features music faculty who will present a diverse array of older and newer repertoire for chamber ensemble.

Furman ensembles performing include duo runedako, comprised of faculty members Ruth Neville and Dan Koppelman on piano; the Poinsett Piano Trio, whose members include David Gross (piano), Deirdre Hutton (violin), and Christopher Hutton (violoncello); and a jazz combo led by Matt Olson (saxophone). Additional faculty performing include:

Ian Bracchitta, bass
Mark Britt, trombone
Silviu Ciulei, guitar
Keith Davis, piano
Cynthia Hopkins, flute
Cecilia Kang, clarinet
Grant Knox, tenor
Gary Malvern, trumpet
Derek Parsons, piano
Dewitt Tipton, piano
Steve Watson, guitar
Justin Watt, drums

For more information about the event, contact the Furman Music Office at (864) 294-2086, or visit this link.


Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
Director of News and Media Strategy