News from campus and beyond

Furman to Hold Fall Convocation Sept. 1

Furman University will celebrate the beginning of the 2016-17 school year with its fall convocation Thursday, Sept. 1 at 10 a.m. in McAlister Auditorium.

Furman president Elizabeth Davis will preside as the university welcomes the freshman class and presents a number of major honors and awards.

The public is invited to attend.

The convocation address, “The Furman Advantage,” will be delivered by Dr. Ken Peterson, Furman’s Interim Dean of the Faculty and Professor of Economics.

The Bell Tower Award, one of the university’s highest honors, will be presented to Rubye and Wayne Reid ’68, a couple who have made significant contributions over the years to the development of Furman students through the university’s accounting program and Career Center.

The Rev. LeDayne McLeese Polaski, a 1989 Furman graduate and Executive Director of the Baptist Peace Fellowship of North America, will receive the Richard Furman Baptist Heritage Award.

Furman history professor Steve O’Neill will receive the Faculty Meritorious Award for Diversity & Inclusion, while the Staff Meritorious Award for Diversity & Inclusion will go to Carol Hagood, Assistant Director of Academic Assistance.  Elizabeth Veilleux, a 2016 Furman graduate, will be presented with the Rosa Mary Bodkin Award.

The university will also recognize five members of the senior class who have been named Furman Fellows for the current academic year. They are Ian McConnell of Reston, Va., Emilee O’Brien of Wilbraham, Mass., Lattie Reddoch of Calhoun, Ga., Amanda Richey of Baton Rouge, La., and Katie Scholles of Wyoming, Ohio.

For more information, contact the Furman News and Media Relations office at (864) 294-3107.

Last updated August 24, 2016
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director