News from campus and beyond

Welcome to Phi Beta Kappa

GREENVILLE, S.C.—Sixty-one Furman University students have been elected to the school’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic society.

The newest members were inducted during a special initiation ceremony and dinner on campus earlier this spring.

The president of Furman’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter is Dr. Liz Bouzarth, assistant professor of mathematics.  The PBK secretary is Patricia Sasser, director of the Maxwell Music Library at Furman.

Founded in 1776 during the American Revolution, Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Its campus chapters induct the most outstanding students at America’s leading colleges and universities, and only about 10 percent of the nation’s institutions of higher education have Phi Beta Kappa chapters.

Here are the newest members from the class of 2016:

Alise Kristine Alexander, French

Abigail Jean Arvanites, Sociology (Poverty Studies)

Leah Barngrover, History (Film Studies and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies)

Caroline Mitchell Blake, Chemistry

Kristen Cain, Biology

Judith F. Carlisle, Biology and Philosophy

Yikai Chen, Mathematics and Music (Violin Performance)

Sarah Mason Clark, Health Sciences and Spanish

Regan Kathleen Cormak, History (Film Studies)

Kara DeGroote, Biology

Anna Grace Downs, Biology and History

Lindsay Elaine Eddy, Chemistry

Elias Dorrin Eells, Classics

Dainee Marie Gibson, Biology and Sustainability Science

Maggie Grisell, Computing and Applied Mathematics

Alice Catherine Hall, Spanish (Latin American Studies and Poverty Studies)

Abigail Anne Hart, Music (Vocal Performance)

Edward Lawson Held, Political Science

Christine Lucille Hess, Health Sciences

Catherine Gray Hinshaw, Political Science and Spanish

Kelly Ann Humes, Health Sciences

Kelly Cain Jackson, Mathematics-Economics

Emily Anne Kern, Political Science and Sustainability Science

Caroline Marie Lancaster, Political Science

Virginia Walker Lesslie, Health Sciences

Emery Roger Longan, Biology

Kristen Ayn Marakoff, English

Hayden Mensah Mbroh, Psychology (Poverty Studies)

Alecia Noelle Nichols, Chinese Studies and Spanish

Anhang Ning, German and Philosophy (Humanities)

Grace Kate Odell, Music (Piano Performance)

Hannah Jean Pate, Health Sciences

Ben William Powers, Music (Clarinet Performance)

John Hiers Rainwater, Spanish

Benjamin James Riddle, Sustainable Development and Social Change (Poverty Studies)

Kiersten Rule, Chemistry

Daniel Simpson Sanders III, French and History

Molly Shields, Biology

Kaitlin Quinn Shuell, Communication Studies and French

Stephanie Terese Simon, Music Composition

Blake Allen Singer, Business Administration and Religion (Ancient Greek and Roman Studies)

Hyeri Song, Psychology

Sarah Apperson Stanley, Health Sciences

Claire Elizabeth Sullivan, Health Sciences and Spanish

Hayley Elizabeth Swatzel, Biology (Poverty Studies)

Gloria Anne Taylor, Economics and Political Science

Nathan Lewis Thompson, Economics and Political Science

Carryl Richards Tinsley, Communication Studies and Religion

Michael Davis Turlington, Chemistry

Molly Ruth Vernon, Health Sciences

Sarah Doroth Walsh, Chinese Studies and Spanish

Casey Jackson Wells, Health Sciences

Kassidy Jo Wilks, Health Sciences

Rebecca Cannon Zimmerman, English

From the class of 2017:

Abigail Hartman, History

Ian McConnell, Mathematics and Music

Patrick Musau, Computing and Applied Mathematics and Physics

Sarah Joy Saba, Music (Piano Performance)

Emerson Monteray Smith, Economics

Pamela Evan Talbert, Communication Studies and Religion

Vivian Teresa Tompkins, Music

Last updated April 18, 2016
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director