News from campus and beyond

Furman to hold opening convocation Aug. 30; Trustee Baxter Wynn to speak

AUGUST 27, 2012
by Vince Moore, Director of News and Media Relations

Baxter Wynn

GREENVILLE, S.C.—The 2012-13 school year at Furman University officially will get under way with an opening convocation Thursday, Aug. 30 at 10 a.m. in McAlister Auditorium.

Furman president Rod Smolla will preside as the university welcomes the class of 2016 and presents a number of honors and awards.  The Rev. Baxter Wynn, Furman trustee and Minister of Pastoral Care and Community Relations at First Baptist Church of Greenville, will deliver the convocation address.

Dr. Charles Brewer, the William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Psychology who has taught at Furman since 1967, will receive an honorary Doctor of Humanities degree. Harold C. Warlick, Jr., a Baptist minister and emeritus dean of the chapel at High Point University, will receive the Richard Furman Baptist Heritage Award.

The university will also recognize the five members of the senior class who have been named Furman Fellows for the current academic year.  They are Matthew Correnti of Springfield, Pa., Kory Kraft of Greer, Ben Saul of Greenwood, Anna Sheppard of Irmo, and Emily Wirzba of Hillsborough, N.C.

For more information, contact the Furman News and Media Relations office at 864-294-3107.

Last updated March 14, 2016
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director