News from campus and beyond

78 Furman students elected to Phi Beta Kappa, nation’s oldest academic society

APRIL 18, 2012

GREENVILLE, S.C.—Seventy-eight Furman University students were elected this spring to the school’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic society.

Founded in 1776 during the American Revolution, Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.  Its campus chapters induct the most outstanding students at America’s leading colleges and universities, and only about 10 percent of the nation’s institutions of higher learning have Phi Beta Kappa chapters.

Here are the newest members from the class of 2012:

Katie Nicole Addington – Psychology

Holly Hope Arrowood – Mathematics and Music

Christian Davis Baker – Chemistry

Sarah Grace Barton – Biology

Amanda Marissa Blau – Biology and Spanish

Emily Irene Bridges – History

Lindsay Kate Caesar – Biology

Phillip Norton Calvin – Computer Science

Alexandra Heaton Carrico – Vocal Performance

Charlotte Lee Coggins – Psychology

Sarah Katherine Coleman – Biology

Sara Elizabeth Croom – Biology

Lee Andrew Deneen – Political Science and French

William Andrew Ellison – Asian Studies and Political Science

Erin Catherine Frazer – Political Science

Lewis Watson George II – Biology

William Lee Gilmer – History and Philosophy (Poverty Studies)

Annelise Hocevar Gorensek – Chemistry (Science Education)

Lindsay M. Haroff – Communication and Political Science

Haley Michelle Harteg – Chemistry

Lindsay C. Haselden – Neuroscience

Sean Christopher Hastings – Business Administration and Sociology

Spencer D. Hawkins – Chemistry (Biochemistry)

Samuel Bennett Hunley – Psychology and Religion

Byron Casey Jaeger – Mathematics

Kaitlin Georgeanne Janning – Biology

Theresa Sophia Jansen – Political Science

Qize Jiang – Neuroscience

Kevin Michael Lamm – Chemistry

Ann Tipton Lesslie – French and Political Science

Robin Jeanne Lewis – Political Science

Katherine Barnett Love – Economics

Steven Ross Martin – Psychology

Piotr Mikolaj Matusiak – Economics and History

Mary Gorman McArthur – Philosophy and Music/Piano Performance

Erin Ash McChristian – Business Administration and English

Emily Kate McClimon – Sociology

Anna Elizabeth McDanal – History

Allison Christine McFadden – Biology and Spanish

Lindsay Marie Meyers – Neuroscience

John Richard Moesch – Health Science (Pre-Health)

Morgan Ellen McCloy Morrison – French and Political Science

Gregory M. Olsen – Biochemistry

Andrew Cotesworth Pinckney – Economics

Robert Lawton Pratt – Political Science

Grayson Charles Price – Philosophy

Jacqueline Leone Razzaghy – Chemistry

Dylan Jack Richards – Biology

Alyssa Leigh Richardson – Economics and Political Science

Jessica Lee Richardson – Spanish

Luther Cullum Rogers – Chemistry

Tricia S. Rosetti – Biology and Health Sciences

Rebecca Erin Shelton – Earth and Environmental Science

Jessica Marie Smith – Chemistry

Daniel Caleb Stallsmith – History

Alicia Clare Stedman – Psychology and Spanish

Andrew Zachary Summers – Chemistry

James Knox Sutterfield – Church Music

Brandon Alexander Tensley – German Studies and Political Science

Rachel Claire Thompson – Classics and Sociology

James Hamilton Wade – Chemistry

Kathleen Virginia Wade – Asian Studies and Economics

Morgan Kay Walker – Biology

Caitlin E. Whalen – Communication Studies and Music

Nicole Evelyn Wischmeyer – Sociology (Pre-Health)

Edward A. Wixler – Philosophy and Political Science

Mark Zientek – Philosophy and Political Science

Michelle Lee Zint – Violin Performance

From the class of 2013:

Corey Nathaniel Allen – Economics and Political Science

David Brooks Barton –Biology

Rachel Anne Donaldson – Music and Pre-Health

Alanna B. Gillis – Sociology (Poverty Studies/Latin American Studies)

Alyssa Ryann Gillis – History and Political Science (Latin American Studies)

Lara Elizabeth Graham – Biology (Pre-Health)

Tayla Renee Howard – Health Sciences

Thomas Tyler Hydrick – Political Science and History

Claire E. Roess – Biology (Latin American Studies)

Caroline Elaine Wagner – Spanish and Sustainability Science

Six members of the class of 2012 were inducted last

year as juniors:

Matthew Daniel Correnti – Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics

Jordan Quinn Lyerly –Mathematics

Susannah Marie Morris – Religion

Julie Christine Rafferty – Chemistry

Alexis Wong – Chemistry

Elizabeth Anne Wood – Chemistry

Last updated March 14, 2016
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director