News from campus and beyond

Phi Beta Kappa welcomes new members

GREENVILLE, S.C.—Fifty-three Furman University students were elected this spring to the school’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic society.

Founded in 1776 during the American Revolution, Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Its campus chapters induct the most outstanding students at America’s leading colleges and universities, and only about 10 percent of the nation’s institutions of higher education have Phi Beta Kappa chapters.

Here are the newest members from the class of 2013:

Susanna Gaddy Lee Alexander – Mathematics

Brent Wallace Anderson – Biology and History

Ahlam Michelle Armaly – Chemistry

Elizabeth Jane Bleed – Mathematics

Margaret Drew Bongiovanni – Art History

Anna Marie Bower – Philosophy (Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies )

Chelsea Patterson Brewer – Sociology and Classics

Matthew Edward Brown – Economics and Political Science

Emma Joanne Byland – Health Sciences

Hsiao-Wen Cheng – English

Adam Christian Collins – Cello Performance

Samantha Rose Condon – Spanish (Latin American Studies, Health Sciences)

James Buren Crockett – Health Sciences

Taylor Nicole Davidson – English (Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies)

Ahmad Rami Dbouk – Philosophy and Biochemistry

Maranda Marie DeBusk – Theatre Arts

Serena Jinju Doose – Asian Studies and Earth and Environmental Sciences

Tyler Steven Droll – Information Technology

Cameron Lenore Egan – Economics

Jacquelyn Taylor Gilbert – Chemistry

Anne Elizabeth Goodgame – French and History

Mark Odell Helms – Church Music

Laura Gayle Hinson – Sociology

Mary Katherine Hornack – Biology

Julie Kathleen Jarriel – English (Secondary Education)

Sarah Ellen Johnson – Asian Studies (ESOL)

Kristen Elizabeth Kailer – Business Administration

Adam Douglas Lalor – Economics and History

Aaron Douglass Markham – Mathematics

Amanda Marie Michalski – Political Science and German Studies

Brian Carl Lodovico Neumann – History

Julia Celeste Peay – Neuroscience

Elise Annette Prete – Mathematics

Nathan Kent Reeves – Vocal Performance

Hillary Denise  Rodgers – Chemistry

Benjamin Robert Saul – Political Science (Poverty Studies)

Kirsten Alyssa Scheil – Psychology

Mary Grace Short – Economics

Hannah Marie Smith – Psychology

Jennifer Leigh Summers – French and Biology

John Stephen Tagert – Political Science

Zachary Siegfried Treu – English and Communication Studies

Kyle B. Vinson – Psychology

Kaleigh Victoria Ward – Sociology (Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies)

Emily Elizabeth Wirzba – Philosophy, Political Science (Poverty Studies)

Karen Naomi Woods – Health Sciences

From the class of 2014:

Rachel Helen Alison – History and Spanish

Catherine Grace Burton – Chemistry

Christina Dorismond – Chemistry

Seth Michael Greenstein – Computer Science

Horace Rhodes Hambrick – Biochemistry

Charlotta Amelia Holt – Political Science, History, Chinese Studies (Poverty Studies)

Stella Coker Watson – Mathematics

Last updated February 22, 2016
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director