News from campus and beyond

Mock Trial team wins Robert E. Sanders Invitational

Last updated February 17, 2016

By News administrator

The Furman University mock trial team won first place in the Robert E. Sanders Mock Trial Invitational tournament held this past weekend in Lexington, Ky.

The tournament, hosted by Eastern Kentucky University, featured 26 programs from around the Ohio Valley and the South, including former national champions Miami of Ohio, Rhodes and Bellarmine.

This year’s Sanders championship represents the third time in the tournament’s 11-year history that Furman has been crowned the champion.

The winning team was led by Alyssa Richardson ’12 of Columbia, who won an outstanding attorney award both as a defense and a prosecution attorney.

The other team members were Caley DeGroote ’14, Lyman; Ricky Davis ’14, Kennesaw, Georgia; Dustin Magaziner ’15, Cherry Hill, New Jersey; Mara Hershberger ’15, Martinsburg, Pennsylvania; Chandler Jackson ’15, Summerville; Judy Gantzer ’15, Mumbai, India; and Matt Janowski ’15, Evansville, Indiana

Furman had a second team in the competition that finished with a 2-6 record.  Those team members are Jessica Corey ’14, Bentleyville, Ohio; Gillian Small ’14, Evans, Georgia; Christina Oliva ’15, Ridgewood, New Jersey; Eric Clamage ’15, Lake Forest, Illinois; Monica Zwolinski ’15, Tall Timbers, Maryland; Kevin Hong ’15, Chapel Hill, North Carolina; Nicholas Lau ’15, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Ekow Bartels-Kodwo ’13, Accra, Ghana; and Samy Dorgham ’14, Indian Land.

The Mock Trial coaches include Lindsay Builder ’07, Wes Carson ’08, Thomas Azar, D. Brad Rustin ’03, Steven Buckingham ’03, Mark Fessler ’05, M. Mitchell Goldsmith ’06, and Brent Tucker.

The next stop for Furman’s mock trial teams is the Red Carpet Classic hosted by UCLA, the reigning national champions, Nov. 4-6.

For more information, contact Dr. Glen Halva-Neubauer at 864-294-3608.

(illustration by shutterstock)

Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
Director of News and Media Strategy