News from around the
lake and beyond
Furman News

Brewer awarded honorary degree

AUGUST 30, 2012
by Vince Moore, Director of News and Media Relations

Read President Smolla’s address to students

Read Baxter Wynn’s convocation address

See bios of award winners

Furman University awarded an honorary degree to one of its longest serving faculty members and officially welcomed the students to campus during opening convocation Aug. 30.

Dr. Charles Brewer, the William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Psychology who has taught at Furman since 1967, received an honorary Doctor of Humanities degree.  Brewer was the first recipient of the Alester G. Furman, Jr., and Janie Earle Furman Award for Meritorious Teaching, and in 2010 received the university’s Meritorious Advising Award.

Furman president Rod Smolla presided over the ceremony that marks the beginning of the academic year.  The Rev. Baxter Wynn, Furman trustee and Minister of Pastoral Care and Community Relations at First Baptist Church of Greenville, delivered the convocation address.

Harold C. Warlick, Jr., a Baptist minister and emeritus dean of the chapel at High Point University, received the Richard Furman Baptist Heritage Award.

The university also recognized the five members of the senior class who have been named Furman Fellows for the current academic year.  They are Matthew Correnti of Springfield, Pa., Kory Kraft of Greer, Ben Saul of Greenwood, Anna Sheppard of Irmo, and Emily Wirzba of Hillsborough, N.C.

For more information, contact the Furman News and Media Relations office at 864-294-3107.

Last updated February 17, 2016
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director