News from around the
lake and beyond
Furman News

Furman among five institutions to receive lectureship

Image courtesy of

Image courtesy of

Furman University has been selected to receive a lectureship in the chemical sciences by the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation. The university is one of five primarily undergraduate institutions to receive the award.

The 2015 Jean Dreyfus Boissevain Lectureship in the amount of $18,500 is a grant which funds the hosting of a leading researcher to give public and technical lectures in the chemical sciences, and supports two undergraduates in summer research.

“Since its inception in 2010, the Jean Dreyfus Boissevain Lectureship has provided funding for distinguished chemists to have extended visits at undergraduate institutions throughout the United States,” says Dr. Mark J. Cardillo, Executive Director of the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation. “The award also supports undergraduate research as part of our continuing commitment to all aspects of chemistry education.”

The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation is a leading non-profit organization devoted to the advancement of the chemical sciences. It was established in 1946 by chemist, inventor, and businessman Camille Dreyfus, who directed that the foundation’s purpose be “to advance the science of chemistry, chemical engineering and related sciences as a means of improving human relations and circumstances around the world.” Jean Dreyfus Boissevain was President of the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation from 1956 until her death in 1991.

Other institutions receiving the award are Albright College (Reading, Penn.), Harvey Mudd College (Claremont, Calif.), Washington and Jefferson College (Washington, Penn.), and Western Washington University (Bellingham, Wash.).

For more information about the program and The Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, visit, or contact the Furman University News and Media Relations Office at (864) 294-3107.

Last updated August 5, 2022
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director