News from campus and beyond

University welcomes newest members of Phi Beta Kappa

Forty-nine Furman University students have been elected to the school’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic society.

The newest members were inducted during a special initiation ceremony and dinner on campus earlier this spring.

Founded in 1776 during the American Revolution, Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Its campus chapters induct the most outstanding students at America’s leading colleges and universities, and only about 10 percent of the nation’s institutions of higher education have Phi Beta Kappa chapters.

Here are the newest members from the class of 2015:

Brittany Megan Baker, English

Michaela Jo Barnett, Sustainability Science and Spanish

Virginia McKay Bever, Religion

Jennifer Elizabeth Bilton, English

Andrea Elizabeth Binz, Biology and Asian Studies

Lee Carter Bolton, Political Science and French

Emily Bowers, Psychology

Emily Eileen Brown, Religion

Allison Leigh Butler, Communication Studies

Lauren Anne Carrozza, Japanese Studies and Anthropology

Cassandra Hua Chee, Spanish and Political Science

Luke D. Christie, Communication Studies

Kelly Marie Dickson, Political Science and Economics

Danielle Ebzery, Chemistry

Heather Lynn Erdmann, Psychology

James Xiaohu Gao, Biology and Chinese Studies

Eliza Claire Hardy, Spanish

Madison Langley Hassler, Mathematics

Richard Sumner Hatch, Computer Science and Music

Levan Khulordava, Biochemistry

Kelsey Kinderknecht, Health Sciences

Benjamin Shawn Krichman, Physics

Mary Dolores Mitchum, Health Sciences and Spanish

Abbey Glen Myers, Health Sciences

Julia Ruth Nelson, Chemistry

Emily Suzanne Nyers, Chemistry

Lauren Lee Owczarzak, Education (Poverty Studies)

Laura Claire Peckham, Mathematics

Shelby Hart Price, Sociology (Poverty Studies)

Alexander D. Pumphrey, German and Religion

James Brian Ranger, Physics

Sarah Rose Rasmussen, Anthropology and Studio Art

Dena Rhinehart, Chemistry

Ian Jordan Richardson, Philosophy

Jordan Sanders, Economics

Orlin Orlinov Sergev, Chemistry

Madison Elizabeth Smith, Health Sciences

Andrew Wade Smith, Economics and Political Science

Emily Reid Vontsolos, Economics and Spanish

Caroline Springman Walters, Communication Studies

Jenny Johanna Warnken, Biology (Sustainability Science)

Xing Wei, Mathematics

Alice Laidlaw Williams, Global Health and Asian Studies

Benjamin Montgomery Wilson, Biology

From the class of 2016:

Erin Michelle Barnett, Theatre Arts and Economics

Jordan Alexander Brown, Mathematics

Gibson Arthur Edward Klapthor, Health Sciences

John McLain McCall, Political Science, Art

Julia Christine Roberts, Political Science (Poverty Studies)

Last updated May 5, 2015
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director