News from campus and beyond

Furman bids farewell to the Class of 2014

Streaming video of commencement (Click “On Demand” tab on the right side of screen)

Download the video file (800MB)

Read commencement speeches of Carl Kohrt and Allie Simmons


Furman University awarded 616 undergraduate and master’s degrees and presented a number of its top academic honors during graduation exercises Saturday, May 10.

Approximately 7,000 people attended the commencement activities in Paladin Stadium.

The Scholarship Cup, given to the graduating senior with the highest academic average, was awarded to three students, all of whom had 4.0 averages.

They are Horace Rhodes Hambrick of Georgetown, Ky. (Chemistry); Charlotta Amelia Holt of Summerville (Political Science, Chinese Studies and History); and Stella Coker Watson of Greenville (Mathematics).

Hambrick and Holt also received the General Excellence awards, given by the Furman faculty to the outstanding female and male student in the graduating class.

Furman also presented Alester G. Furman, Jr., and Janie Earle Furman awards for meritorious teaching and advising.

The teaching awards went to Nathaniel P.S. Cook, Assistant Professor of Economics, and Savita Nair, Professor of History and Asian Studies.  The advising awards were presented to Lesley Ann Quast, Professor of Education, and Laura Lee Wright, Professor of Chemistry.

Furman Interim President Carl Kohrt, who delivered the commencement address, received the Richard W. Riley Medal for Promise and Achievement in recognition of his contributions to both the Greenville community and Furman.  The award is named for the 1954 Furman graduate who served as Governor of South Carolina and U.S. Secretary of Education under President Bill Clinton.

The student speaker was graduate Allie Simmons of Dallas, Texas, a communication studies major.

For more information, contact Furman’s News and Media Relations office at 864-294-3107.


Last updated May 11, 2014
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director