News from campus and beyond

Meet the 2013-14 Furman Fellows

GREENVILLE, S.C.—Five Furman University seniors have been named Furman Fellows for the current academic year.

The students are Bryan Betts of Tega Cay, Kristina Pardo of Weston, Fla., Elisabeth Schlaudt of Greenville, Carrie Seigler of Greenville, and Jacob Zimmerman of Clinton.  The Fellows were announced during opening convocation on Sept. 10.

The fellowships are awarded annually to five members of the senior class who have shown unique leadership skills and an ability to make a difference in the world and in the lives of others.  Students are nominated for the fellowships by faculty and staff. A committee meets over the summer to make the selections.

The awards are made possible through the generosity of Bob Buckman, a Furman trustee, and his wife, Joyce Mollerup.

Here is biographical information about this year’s Furman Fellows:

Bryan Betts, an English and philosophy major, plans a career as a writer. He has written articles for several university publications and reported for The New York Times. This year, having spent the summer as an intern with The State newspaper in Columbia, he is serving as editor-in-chief of The Paladin. He has also been active in the community with such organizations as the Greenville Literacy Association and Pendleton Place. He is a member of Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society and Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society.

Kristina Pardo is majoring in physics and mathematics. Known for her creativity, positive attitude and intense interest in research, she was a member of the Furman robotics team that finished second in the national Atmel Robotics competition last fall. She is also a musician who plays bassoon, flute, and mellophone, and participates in five Furman ensembles. An American Physical Society Minority Scholar and a member of Sigma Pi Sigma, the physics honor society, she hopes to receive a Ph.D. in physics.

Elisabeth Schlaudt, an earth and environmental sciences major, was one of 50 students nationwide to be selected a Morris K. Udall Scholar, a prestigious award for students pursuing careers in environmental fields, tribal public policy, or Native health care. She is also a Hollingsworth Fellow and a member of Phi Eta Sigma. She plans to work toward a Ph.D. in hydrogeology with a focus on watershed management; ultimately she hopes to secure a position that allows her to maintain a role in research while shaping management policies.

Carrie Seigler is a sociology major minoring in poverty studies. She has been active in the Center for Vocational Reflection, and her contributions to campus life range from working with the Global Issues Forum to interning with the Exploration of Vocational Ministry program and participating in the Servant Scholars internship program with Mere Christianity Forum. She also works with the poverty alleviation group United Ministries and with the advocacy group Our Eyes Were Opened. She is a member of Alpha Kappa Delta, the sociology honor society, and Phi Eta Sigma.

Jacob Zimmerman is highly regarded for his creativity and problem-solving skills. An English and philosophy major and a recipient of the Pipkin Award, the English department’s highest academic honor, he has been described as “a model of engagement” with an outstanding ability to pursue ideas through the medium of literature. In addition he is a talented pianist known for his focus and work ethic. He has served as opinions editor of The Paladin and held leadership positions in the English Honorary Society and Philosophy Club.

For more information, contact the Furman News and Media Relations office at 864-294-3107.

Last updated September 11, 2013
Share This
Contact Us
Clinton Colmenares
News & Media Relations Director