Engaged Parent Award: Dan and Emilyn Sanders

Engaged Parent Award

Dan and Emilyn Sanders

Presented to the parents of a Furman student or graduate in appreciation for their commitment to education and leadership as volunteers.

Dan and Emilyn Sanders have a tradition of service to Furman University where their two sons, Dan Jr. ’86 and John ’88, daughter-in-law Suzanne ’88, and grandchildren, Will ’19 and Dan ’16, graduated. They are former chairs of Parent & Family Council and served on the President’s Advisory Council as well as the executive committee of the Richard Furman Society. Both Dan and Emily serve as emeritus members of the Furman Board of Trustees, and the Townes Science Center library is named for the Sanders family. They are also loyal supporters of Bridges to a Brighter Future, The Riley Institute and the Partners Program.

A native of Elberton, Georgia, Dan earned his engineering degree magna cum laude at the University of South Carolina. Emilyn, a Greenville native, is a graduate of the University of Houston. She did graduate work at the University of Houston School of Social Work and at the New York School of Interior Design.

Dan is the former president of ExxonMobil Chemical Company, the former chairman of the American Chemical Council, and the former chairman of the Society of Chemical Industry. He was awarded the Chemical Industry Medal for his contributions to applied chemistry in 2005. He currently serves on the Board of Directors for the South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities. He previously served on the Board of Directors at Celanese Corporation, Milliken & Company, Nalco Company, Pacolet Milliken Company, Ecolab Corporation, and Arch Chemical Company.

Emilyn remains on the Board of Trustees of the Upcountry History Museum, where she is dedicated to the American History Book Club, which she founded in 2008. She is also president of the South Carolina Historical Society and a member of the board of trustees for the Greenville Museum of Art, Community Foundation, Upstate Independent Film Society, and the Metropolitan Council.