Students observing a specimen

Our Events

MayX 2019 Schedule

Download the MayX 2019 Event Calendar [PDF].

Date Event
Tuesday, May 14 Campus housing opens at 2:00 p.m.
Wednesday, May 15 First day of classes
11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. Cool Off with FUSAB (Shaved Ice from Nomadik Few) (Duke Library Steps)
Friday, May 17 Drop-Add closes
4:00 p.m.Rebel Diaz: Hip Hop Performance (Trone Center)
Tuesday, May 21 2:00-4:00 p.m. Poverty Simulation (Watkins Room) Sign up via an email to Christy.Litz@Furman.edu
Wednesday, May 22 4:30-5:30 p.m. Security, Heterogeneous Data, and Ancient Citation Practices (Lecture by Dr. Gabriel Weaver, ITI) (Riley Hall 106) [CLP]

5:00-8:30 p.m. – Dine and Unwind by FUSAB (Outside the dining hall)

8:30 p.m. Movie “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” with drinks and popcorn by FUSAB (Behind the dining hall)

Monday, May 27 Memorial Day (No Classes)
Tuesday, May 28 5:00-6:00 p.m. The Coming of Enigma (Lecture by Dr. David Perry, NSA) (Riley Hall 106) [CLP]
Wednesday, May 29 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. What do you Espress-know? by FUSAB (Methodical coffee and snacks in front of Duke Library Steps)

5:00-6:00 p.m. The Cracking of Enigma (Lecture by Dr. David Perry, NSA) (Riley Hall 106)

Thursday, May 30 Last day to withdraw from classes
7:30 p.m. Spartanburg Jazz Ensemble (Lakeside Amphitheater) [Free]
Friday, May 31 1:30 p.m. Storytelling (Hipp Hall 206) [Free]
Wednesday, June 5 Last Day of Classes
Dining-Hall meal services end with lunch
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Poster Session by Chemistry Students (Kohrt Commons, Plyler Hall)
12:00-1:30 p.m. Writing with Writers Showcase with guest writer Jonathan Rogers (Furman Hall 101)

1:30 p.m. Korean Food Party – student-made Kimchi! (Modern Language Center – Furman Hall 2nd floor)

Thursday, June 6 Campus housing closes at noon
Friday, June 7 Grades due by 5:00 p.m. (Study Away grades due by June 17)