Faculty Sponsors Engaged Living Furman University

Engaged Living allows you to explore your interests through a wide variety of interdisciplinary topics. For that, you can thank our faculty.

Our academic programs are designed and led by professors with a special interest in a particular topic. Whether you're studying the politics of war; attempting to solve complex global problems such as healthcare, poverty, or sustainability; or searching for life's meaning, our faculty find creative ways to engage you in your learning community, leading you through course content, and extracurricular activities that are relevant to your area of focus. More importantly, our program allows you to connect with faculty members who share your interest. Our professors serve as mentors, ensuring you'll have a support system in place to begin your college experience.

Brad Harmon Furman University

Brad Harmon

Associate Director of Residence Life and Director of the Engaged Living
864.294.3036
brad.harmon@furman.edu
Brannon Andersen Furman University

Brannon Andersen

Professor and Chair, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
864.294.3366
brannon.andersen@furman.edu
John Banisaukas Furman University

John Banisaukas

Chief Health Careers Advisor, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
864.294.3042
john.banisaukas@furman.edu
Bryan Bibb Furman University

Bryan Bibb

Associate Professor of Religion
864.294.3089
bryan.bibb@furman.edu
Gretchen Braun Furman University

Gretchen Braun

Assistant Professor of English
864.294.3137
gretchen.braun@furman.edu
Erik Ching Furman University

Erik Ching

Professor of History
864.294.2119
erik.ching@furman.edu
Eric Cain Furman University

Eric Cain

Program Director of the Cothran Center for Vocational Reflection
864.294.2511
eric.cain@furman.edu
Susan D'Amato Furman University

Susan D'Amato

Professor of Physics, Faculty Associate of the Cothran Center for Vocational Reflection
864.294.3604
susan.damato@furman.edu
Weston Dripps Furman University

Weston Dripps

Associate Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences
864.294.3392
weston.dripps@furman.edu
David Gandolfo Furman University

David Gandolfo

Associate Professor of Philosophy
864.294.3238
david.gandolfo@furman.edu
Kristy Maher Furman University

Kristy Maher

Professor of Sociology
864.294.3302
kristy.maher@furman.edu
Bill Ranson Furman University

Bill Ranson

Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences
864.294.3364
bill.ranson@furman.edu
Elizabeth Smith Furman University

Elizabeth Smith

Professor of Political Science
864.294.3674
liz.smith@furman.edu
David Spear Furman University

David Spear

William E. Leverette, Jr. Professor of History
864.294.3143
david.spear@furman.edu
Susan Ybarra Furman University

Susan Ybarra

Pre-Health Experience Coordinator
864.294.3528
susan.ybarra@furman.edu
​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University