Meet Our Faculty Political Science Furman University

Our faculty specializes in everything from public law and Congress to the politics of China and political philosophy. Their backgrounds and areas of expertise may run the gamut, but they share one thing in common: they're outstanding teachers. At Furman, our political science faculty understands the importance of interacting with students inside and outside of the classroom. Whether you're conducting research with us, looking for an internship, or seeking extra help on a difficult assignment, we're here to ensure your success.

Don Aiesi Furman University

Don Aiesi

Professor
864.294.3513
don.aiesi@furman.edu
Teresa Nesbitt Cosby Furman University

Teresa Nesbitt Cosby

Associate Professor
864.294.2129
teresa.cosby@furman.edu
David Fleming Furman University

David Fleming

Assistant Professor
864.294.2360
david.fleming@furman.edu
Donald L. Gordon Furman University

Donald L. Gordon

Professor
864.294.3327
don.gordon@furman.edu
Jim Guth Furman University

Jim Guth

William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Political Science
864.294.3330
jim.guth@furman.edu
Angela C. Halfacre Furman University

Angela C. Halfacre

Professor
Director of Center for Sustainability
864.294.3655
angela.halfacre@furman.edu
Glen A. Halva-Neubauer Furman University

Glen A. Halva-Neubauer

Dana Professor of Political Science
Director, Mock Trial and Public Service Internship Programs
864.294.3608
glen.halva-neubauer@furman.edu
Kate Kaup Furman University

Katherine Palmer Kaup

James B. Duke Professor of Asian Studies and Political Science
864.294.3150
kate.kaup@furman.edu
Akan Malici Furman University

Akan Malici

Associate Professor
864.294.3576
akan.malici@furman.edu
Benjamin Storey Furman University

Benjamin Storey

Associate Professor
Co-director of the Tocqueville Program
864.294.3574
benjamin.storey@furman.edu
Aristide Tessitore Furman University

Aristide Tessitore

Professor
Co-director of the Tocqueville Program
864.294.3331
ty.tessitore@furman.edu
C. Danielle Vinson Furman University

C. Danielle Vinson

Professor
Department Chair
864.294.3241
danielle.vinson@furman.edu
A. Kadir Yildirim Furman University

A. Kadir Yildirim

Assistant Professor
864.294.3667
kadir.yildirim@furman.edu
​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University