Meet Our Faculty Furman University

The Modern Languages and Literatures department is diverse, yet united in its mission to inspire you in your discovery of foreign language and culture at Furman. Our instructors' interests range from Chilean poetry to post-war German literature and from Chinese cinema to anthropology. Among our faculty are 24 tenure-track professors who have proven their long-term commitment to teaching language. Many faculty members have earned special recognition, and all have an in-depth understanding of their subject and a passion for helping students gain fluency in a non-native language and culture.


French

William G. Allen Furman University

William G. Allen

Professor of French and Italian; Department Chair
864.294.2954
bill.allen@furman.edu
Marianne Bessy Furman University

Marianne Bessy

Associate Professor and Coordinator of French
864.294.3175
marianne.bessy@furman.edu
Cherie Maiden Furman University

Cherie Maiden

Professor of French and African Literature; Lois Aileen Coggins Professorship in French
864.294.3175
cherie.maiden@furman.edu
             

German

Anne Culberson Furman University

Anne Culberson

Lecturer in German and French
864.294.3184
anne.culberson@furman.edu
Ilka Rasch Furman University

Ilka Rasch

Associate Professor and Coordinator of German
864.294.3182
ilka.rasch@furman.edu

Linguistics

Jerry Cox Furman University

Jerry Cox

Professor and Coordinator of Linguistics
864.294.3187
jerry.cox@furman.edu

Spanish

Linda B. Bartlett Furman University

Linda B. Bartlett

Professor of Spanish; Acting Spanish Coordinator
864.294.3388
linda.bartlett@furman.edu
Bryan Betancur Furman University

Bryan Betancur

Assistant Professor of Spanish
864.294.3146
bryan.betancur@furman.edu
David Bost Furman University

David Bost

Professor of Spanish; Administrative Director, Cothran Center for Vocational Reflection
864.294.3177
david.bost@furman.edu
Jeremy L. Cass Furman University

Jeremy L. Cass

Associate Professor and Coordinator of Spanish
864.294.2428
jeremy.cass@furman.edu
Ronald J. Friis Furman University

Ronald J. Friis

Professor of Spanish
864.294.2227
ronald.friis@furman.edu
Sofia Kearns Furman University

Sofia Kearns

Professor of Spanish
864.294.3165
sofia.kearns@furman.edu
Stephanie M. Knouse Furman University

Stephanie M. Knouse

Associate Professor of Spanish; University Supervisor of Foreign Language Teacher Education
864.294.3247
stephanie.knouse@furman.edu
Angeli M. Leal Furman University

Angeli M. Leal

Lecturer in Spanish
864.294.3075
angeli.leal@furman.edu
Angelica Lozano-Alonso Furman University

Angelica Lozano-Alonso

Associate Professor of Spanish
864.294.2965
angelica.lozano-alonso@furman.edu
Lourdes Manye Furman University

Lourdes Manye

Professor of Spanish
864.294.3544
lourdes.manye@furman.edu
Adrian Massei Furman University

Adrian Massei

Associate Professor of Spanish
864.294.3318
adrian.massei@furman.edu
Alvin L. Prince Furman University

Alvin L. Prince

Professor of Spanish
864.294.3180
bill.prince@furman.edu
Marria R. Rippon Furman University

Maria Rippon

Assistant Professor of Spanish
864.294.3712
maria.rippon@furman.edu



​​​​​

​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​ ​​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University