Meet Our Faculty Furman University

Our professors have a passion for teaching and want you to take what you learn in their classrooms and use it to change the world. Their research expertise covers a wide range of mathematical interests, ranging from pure to applied mathematics. Our faculty members represent a broad spectrum of theoretical knowledge and practical experience and want to share it with you.

Furman University Liz Bouzarth

Liz Bouzarth

Associate Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3628
liz.bouzarth@furman.edu
Furman University Paul M. Cook II (Marty)

Paul M. Cook II (Marty)

Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3629
marty.cook@furman.edu
Furman University Bob Fray

Bob Fray

Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3633
bob.fray@furman.edu
Furman University Sarah Bailey Frick

Sarah Bailey Frick

Associate Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3635
sarah.frick@furman.edu
Furman University John Harris

John Harris

Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3638
john.harris@furman.edu
Furman University Casey Hawthorne

Casey Hawthorne

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3630
casey.hawthorne@furman.edu
Furman University Kevin Hutson

Kevin Hutson

Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3625
kevin.hutson@furman.edu
Furman University Thomas M. Lewis

Thomas M. Lewis

Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3640
tom.lewis@furman.edu
Furman University Douglas Rall

Douglas Rall

Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3637
doug.rall@furman.edu
Furman University Nancy Shell

Nancy Shell

Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3634
nancy.shell@furman.edu
Furman University Wade H. Sherard III

Wade H. Sherard III

Professor Emeritus
864.294.3630
hamp.sherard@furman.edu
Furman University Dan Sloughter

Dan Sloughter

Professor of Mathematics
864.294.3636
dan.sloughter@furman.edu
Furman University Mark R. Woodard

Mark R. Woodard

Professor, Chair of Mathematics
864.294.3632
mark.woodard@furman.edu

Staff

Furman University Mickey Fray

Mickey Fray

Department Assistant
864.294.3626
mickey.fray@furman.edu
​​​​​​​​​​​

Connect with Admission

Furman is one of the nation's premier liberal arts and sciences universities. We offer our students The Furman Advantage—an over-arching approach to education that promises every student a four-year personalized pathway, a team of advisors and mentors, and the opportunity for an engaged learning experience that is tracked and integrated with the students' academic and professional goals.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University