History Faculty Furman University

Our faculty are dedicated, award-winning teachers who represent a diverse range of approaches to the study of history and specialize in a variety of geographical regions and time periods. We pride ourselves on quality undergraduate teaching, providing a wide range of research experiences, and cutting-edge scholarly work.

Our faculty have won numerous awards for their publications, serve on regional and national academic committees, and have received prestigious fellowships from agencies across the world.

But what truly distinguishes our department from other liberal arts colleges is the breadth and expertise of faculty. Our students have the opportunity to explore the histories of cultures and civilizations throughout the United States, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Middle East.

John Barrington Furman University

John Barrington

Professor; Department Chair
864.294.2022
john.barrington@furman.edu
Lloyd Benson Furman University

Lloyd Benson

Walter Kenneth Mattison Professor of History
864.294.3492
lloyd.benson@furman.edu
Erik Ching Furman University

Erik Ching

Professor
864.294.2119
erik.ching@furman.edu
Carolyn Day Furman University

Carolyn Day

Assistant Professor
864.294.3155
carolyn.day@furman.edu
Timothy Fehler Furman University

Timothy Fehler

Professor of History; Director of Undergraduate Research & Internships
864.294.3347
timothy.fehler@furman.edu
Jason Hansen Furman University

Jason Hansen

Assistant Professor
864.294.2280
jason.hansen@furman.edu
Lane Harris Furman University

Lane J. Harris

Assistant Professor of History and Asian Studies
864.294.2798
lane.harris@furman.edu
Wendy Matsumura Furman University

Wendy Matsumura

Assistant Professor of History and Asian Studies
864.294.2799
wendy.matsumura@furman.edu
Savita Nair Furman University

Savita Nair

James B. Duke Associate Professor of Asian Studies and History
864.294.3332
savita.nair@furman.edu
David Spear Furman University

David Spear

William E. Leverette, Jr. Professor
864.294.3143
david.spear@furman.edu
Marian Strobel Furman University

Marian Strobel

William Montgomery Burnett Professor
864.294.3072
marian.strobel@furman.edu

Cengiz Sisman

Assistant Professor
864.294.2419
cengiz.sisman@furman.edu

Courtney Tollison

Assistant Professor
864.294.2377
courtney.tollison@furman.edu

Diane Vecchio

Professor
864.294.2065
diane.vecchio@furman.edu
​​​​​​​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University