Meet Our Graduate Studies Faculty and Staff Furman University

When you come to Furman, you'll learn from some of the leading professors and practitioners in the education field. Our faculty include educational leaders and scholars who have become experts in their chosen field of study. As teachers, they're committed to helping you achieve your academic and professional goals. You'll have the opportunity to work closely with our instructors and learn how to become a more effective educator. 

Faculty members

Temi Bidjerano Furman University

Temi Bidjerano

Associate Professor of Education and Coordinator of Curriculum 2 Instruction
864.294.3077
temi.bidjerano@furman.edu
Lorraine DeJong Furman University

Lorraine DeJong

Associate Professor of Education
and Coordinator of Early Childhood Education
864.294.3383
lorraine.dejong@furman.edu
Harris Heath Furman University

Harris Heath

Professor of Education and Coordinator School Leadership Programs
864.294.3387
harris.heath@furman.edu
Nelly Hecker Furman University

Nelly Hecker

Chair, Education Department Director, Teacher Education
864.294.3385
nelly.hecker@furman.edu
Scott Henderson Furman University

Scott Henderson

Professor of Education
Director of Program Development and Evaluation
864.294.3384
scott.henderson@furman.edu
Connie McDowell Furman University

Connie McDowell

Clinical Faculty and School Leadership
864.294.2462
connie.mcdowell@furman.edu
Bobbi Siefert Furman University

Bobbi Siefert

Assistant Professor and Coordinator of TESOL Program
864.294.3537
bsiefert@furman.edu
Katie Stover Furman University

Katie Stover

Assistant Professor of Education and Coordinator of Masters in Literacy
864.294.3345
katie.stover@furman.edu
Judy Stuart Furman University

Judy Stuart

Associate Professor of Education and Coordinator of Special Education
864.294.3381
judy.stuart@furman.edu
Michael Svec Furman University

Michael Svec

Associate Professor
864.294.3380
michael.svec@furman.edu
Paul Thomas Furman University

Paul Thomas

Associate Professor of Education
Faculty Director First Year Seminars
864.294.3386
paul.thomas@furman.edu
Troy Terry Furman University

Troy Terry

Director of Graduate Studies
864.294.2213
troy.terry@furman.edu

Adjunct Faculty Members

Jennifer Johnston Furman University

Jennifer Johnston

Adjunct Professor
Jeff McCoy Furman University

Jeff McCoy

Adjunct Professor
jmccoy@furman.edu
Sara Newell Furman University

Sara Newell

Adjunct Professor

Meredith Burton

Adjunct Professor

Lynn Dowis

Adjunct Professor
sdowis@furman.edu

Henry Hunt

Adjunct Professor
hhunt@furman.edu

Sam Maddox

Adjunct Professor

Melissa Terry

Adjunct Professor
​​​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University