Meet Our Faculty English Furman University

The English department includes distinguished scholars, award-winning authors, and dedicated teachers. Their interests and expertise are varied, from environmental literature and ecological criticism to satire, from film studies to creative nonfiction, from the global novel to digital humanities. Best of all, they are committed to helping you fulfill your potential as a reader, writer, and critical thinker. They provide vital guidance in helping English majors choose careers.


Karni Bhati Furman University 

Karni Bhati

Associate Professor
864.294.3019
karni.bhati@furman.edu​
David Bost Furman University  

David Bost

Department Chair, Professor
864.294.3177
david.bost@furman.edu
Gretchen Braun Furman University 

Gretchen Braun

Associate Professor
864.294.3137
gretchen.braun@furman.edu
Vincent Hausmann Furman University 

Vincent Hausmann

Associate Professor, Chair of Film Studies minor
864.294.3158
vincent.hausmann@furman.edu
Shane Herron Furman University 

Shane Herron

Assistant Professor
864.294.3156
shane.herron@furman.edu
Mary Alice Kirkpatrick Furman University 
Melinda Menzer Furman University  

                                             laURA L. Morris         Assistant Professor               864.294.3159 laura.morris@furman.edu 

Margaret J. Oakes Furman UniversityMARGARET J. OAKES   Professor                864.294.3148  margaret.oakes@furman.edu  

Willard Pate Furman University 
                                       Willard Pate               Professor                864.294.3149  willard.pate@furman.edu
Jeanne Provost Furman University  

Jeanne Provost

Assistant Professor
864.294.3153
jeanne.provost@furman.edu
Nicholas F. Radel Furman University  
Lynne Shackelford Furman University  
Michele Speitz Furman University  

Michele Speitz

Assistant Professor
864.294.3619
michele.speitz@furman.edu
Joni Tevis Furman University  

Joni Tevis

Assistant Professor
864.294.3487
joni.tevis@furman.edu
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


​​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University