Faculty and Staff

Chemistry faculty members are devoted teachers who have dedicated themselves to working alongside undergraduate students in and out of the classroom. Our professors are good at it, too. They have received Furman's highest teaching and advising award for faculty ten times — six for meritorious teaching, and four for meritorious advising.

As active researchers who receive funding from national research centers like the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation, our faculty provide undergraduate students at all levels an opportunity to conduct intensive summer research. They lead individual laboratories and work with students one-on-one on meaningful research projects. Through this collaboration, our students are exposed to modern instrumentation and have the opportunity to co-author papers. Our faculty focus on eight areas of chemical research: analytical, biological, environmental, inorganic, materials, neurochemical, organic, and physical.


John J. Banisaukas, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
JOHN J. BANISAUKAS
Assistant Professor and Chief Health Careers Advisor
864.294.3042
john.banisaukas@furman.edu
Research: Physical
Karen L. Buchmueller, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
KAREN L. BUCHMUELLER
Henry Keith and Ellen Hard Townes Professor
864.294.2683
karen.buchmueller@furman.edu
Research: Biological
Edwin Culbertson, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
ED CULBERTSON
Adjunct Professor
864.294.3550
edwin.culbertson@furman.edu
Alan Day, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
ALAN DAY
Adjunct Professor
864.294.3605
alan.day2@furman.edu
Brian C. Goess, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
BRIAN C. GOESS
Associate Professor
864.294.2318
brian.goess@furman.edu
Research: Organic
Elizabeth Gordon, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
ELIZABETH R. GORDON
Lecturer
864.294.3048
elizabeth.gordon@furman.edu
Dian Sungeun Hall, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
DIAN SUNGEUN HALL
Administrative Assistant
864.294.2056
dian.hall@furman.edu
Timothy W. Hanks, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
TIMOTHY W. HANKS
Professor and Department Chair
864.294.3373
tim.hanks@furman.edu
Research: Materials, Organic
Lon B. Knight, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
LON B. KNIGHT, JR.
Charles Ezra Daniel Professor
864.294.3372
lon.knight@furman.edu
Research: Physical
Nicholas Kuklinski, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
NICHOLAS J. KUKLINSKI
Assistant Professor
864.294.2670
nick.kuklinski@furman.edu
Research: Analytical, Neurochemical
Kyle Martin, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
KYLE F. MARTIN
Laboratory Coordinator
864.294.3290
kyle.martin@furman.edu
Marion Martin, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
MARION R. MARTIN
Assistant Professor
864.294.2677
marion.martin@furman.edu
Research: Materials, Physical
Anita Nag, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
ANITA NAG
Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology and Chemistry
864.294.2354
anita.nag@furman.edu
Research: Biological
Jeffrey T. Petty, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
JEFFREY T. PETTY
Professor
864.294.2689
jeff.petty@furman.edu
Research: Biological, Physical
Jared Pienkos, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
JARED A. PIENKOS
Visiting Assistant Professor
864.294.2386
jared.pienkos@furman.edu
Research: Inorganic
George Shields, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
GEORGE C. SHIELDS
VP for Academic Affairs and Provost, Professor of Chemistry
864.294.2007
george.shields@furman.edu
Research: Computational, Structural Biochemistry
Greg G. Springsteen, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
GREG G. SPRINGSTEEN
Associate Professor
864.294.2763
greg.springsteen@furman.edu
Research: Biological, Organic
Berhane Temelso, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry Furman University  
BERHANE TEMELSO
Research Scientist
864.294.2678
berhane.temelso@furman.edu
Research: Computational
Paul S. Wagenknecht, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
PAUL S. WAGENKNECHT
Herman N. Hipp Professor
864.294.2905
paul.wagenknecht@furman.edu
Research: Inorganic, Materials
John Wheeler, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
JOHN F. WHEELER
Professor
864.294.3371
john.wheeler@furman.edu
Research: Analytical, Biological, Environmental
Sandy Wheeler, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
SANDY K. WHEELER
Adjunct Instructor and Industrial Liaison
864.294.3377
sandy.wheeler@furman.edu
Research: Analytical
Laura L. Wright, Faculty and Staff, Chemistry, Furman University  
LAURA L. WRIGHT
Professor
864.294.3375
laura.wright@furman.edu
Research: Inorganic, Materials
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University