Meet Our Faculty Furman University

Our faculty aren't here for just a few lectures each week. They're here to inspire you, inside and outside of the classroom. That means you don't have to seek guidance from a teaching assistant if you have a question. Our faculty teach all of our classes, relying on experiential exercises and integrated projects to help you understand the core principles of business management.

With nearly a dozen faculty members, our talented department will help you analyze the business world from every angle. Our professors have expertise in accounting, finance, marketing, operations management, organization behavior and other areas of study. Together, these educators will prepare you for your career.

Bruce Clemens Furman University

Bruce Clemens

Associate Professor
864.294.3649
bruce.clemens@furman.edu
Kirk Karwan Furman University

Kirk Karwan

Robert E. Hughes Professor of Business Administration
864.294.2285
kirk.karwan@furman.edu
Marion McHugh Furman University

Marion McHugh

Assistant Professor
864.294.3648
marion.mchugh@furman.edu
Katie Player Furman University

Katie Player

Assistant Professor
864.294.3139
katie.player@furman.edu
Sandy Roberson Furman University

Sandy Roberson

Associate Professor of Business and Accounting
864.294.2225
sandy.roberson@furman.edu
Thomas Smythe Furman University

Thomas Smythe

Associate Professor of Business and Accounting
864.294.3312
thomas.smythe@furman.edu
Jeanine Stratton Furman University

Jeanine Stratton​

Assistant Professor
864.294.2949
jeanine.stratton@furman.edu
Suzy Summers Furman University

Suzy Summers

James C. Self Professor of Business Administration
864.294.3313
suzy.summers@furman.edu
Robert Underwood Furman University

Robert Underwood

Associate Professor of Marketing
864.294.3552
robert.underwood@furman.edu
​​

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University