Fall 2015      Spring 2016      May Experience 2016   Summer 2016

2015 Fall Semester (70 Class Days)

 New resident students arrive after 9:00 a.m. August 21 (Fri.)
 Orientation for new students August 21-24 (Fri.-Mon.)
 Campus housing opens for returning students August 23 (Sun.)
      First Dining Hall Meal served - dinner August 23 (Sun.)
 Classes begin August 25 (Tues.)
Opening Convocation at 10:00 a.m.
September 3 (Thurs.)
all course meetings overlapping with the Convocation scheduled from 10:00 to 11:30 a.m. should be suspended.​ ​
Labor Day Holiday September 7 (Mon.)
 Family Weekend September 25-27 (Fri.-Sun.)
 Fall Break October 10-13 (Sat.-Tues.)
 Midterm October 15 (Thurs.)
 Homecoming October 23-25 (Fri.-Sun.)
      Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch
November 24 (Tues.)
Thanksgiving Holidays
November 25-29 (Wed.-Sun.)
      First Dining Hall meal served - dinner
November 29 (Sun.)
 Classes end December 8 (Tues.)
 Study Days December 9,12 (Wed., Sat.)
 Examinations December 10, 11, 14, 15, 16 (Thurs.-Fri., Mon.-Wed.)
       Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch December 16 (Wed.)
 Campus housing close at 10:00 a.m. December 17 (Thurs.)

2016 Spring Semester (68 Class Days)

Orientation for new students  January 8 (Fri.)
Campus housing opens at 2:00 p.m. January 9 (Sat.)
       First Dining Hall meal served - brunch January 10 (Sun.)
 Classes begin January 11 (Mon.)
 Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday January 18 (Mon.)
 Midterm February 26 (Fri.)
       Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch March 4 (Fri.)
Spring Break
March 5-13 (Sat.-Sun.)
       First Dining Hall meal served - dinner March 13 (Sun.)
Easter Break March 25-28 (Fri.-Mon.)
Classes Resume March 29 (Tues.)
Furman Engaged!
April 12 (Tues.)
Classes End
April 26 (Tues.)
Study Days
April 27,30 (Wed., Sat.)
Examinations April 28, 29, May 2, 3, 4 (Thurs.-Fri., Mon.-Wed.)
Residence halls close at 5:00 p.m. May 4 (Wed.)
        Last Dining Hall meal served - lunch May 5 (Thurs.)
Commencement May 7 (Sat.)
North Village & Greenbelt Community close at 1:00 p.m. May 8 (Sun.)
TOTAL: 138 Class Days  

2016 May Experience (15 Class Days)

 Campus housing opens at 2:00pm
May 10 (Tues.)
      May X meal plan starts May 11 (Wed.)
 Classes begin May 11 (Wed.)
 Memorial Day Holiday May 30 (Mon.)
 Classes end June 1 (Wed.)
       May X meal plan ends June 1 (Wed.)
 Campus housing close at noon June 2 (Thurs.)

2016 Summer Session (Session 1 - 24 Days, Session II - 25 Days)

 Campus housing opens at 2:00pm
June 5 (Sun.)
Session I classes begin June 6 (Mon.)
 Independence Day Holiday
July 4 (Mon..)
 Session I classes end July 8 (Fri.)
 Session II classes begin
July 11 (Mon.)
 Session II classes end
August 12 (Fri.)
 Commencement August 13 (Sat.)
 Campus housing closes at noon
August 14 (Sun.)

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University