We like to acknowledge the outstanding work of our students through several departmental awards. Here are the recipients for our various awards and honors in the past years!

Cate Research Fellowship

The Department is pleased to announce a new departmental honor, the Robert L. Cate Research Fellowship, established in 2006 in honor of Baptist pastor and professor Dr. Robert L. Cate. The award, consisting of a stipend and a research opportunity with faculty, will be given each year to a senior religion major.

  • 2014-2015 Laura Krueger, Alexander Pumphrey, Addison Rothrock,Caitlin Russell
  • 2013-2014 James Griscom, Rebekah Bell
  • 2012-2013 Rebekah Bell, James Griscom,       Jacob Waldrip
  • 2011-2012 Stephanie Field, Christine Gwinn, Tucker Hannah
  • 2010-2011 Melissa Carnall, Rachel Harriz,   Amanda Pruitt
  • 2009-2010 Mary Leah Friedline, Rebecca Scott
  • 2008-2009 Kayla Wolfe, Maureen Megan
  • 2007-2008 Jimmy Hoke
  • 2006-2007 John William Duval

Baggott Excellence Award, Male and Female

Endowed by the Rev. and Mrs. James L. Baggott. Annual awards of a medallion and cash to a senior man and woman on the basis of academic achievement and Christian character and for being an outstanding volunteer in church-related vocations.

  • 2015 Sarah Lamb, Carolyn Smith
  • 2014 Maggie Austin, Christine Gwinn
  • 2013 Drew Bongiovanni, John Awadalla
  • 2012 Tucker Hannah, Rachel Thompson
  • 2011 Andrew Cannon, Jill Collins
  • 2010 Jonathan Britt, Elizabeth Adams
  • 2009 Christina Bryant, Madison McClendon
  • 2008 Brittany Riddle, Jimmy Hoke
  • 2006 Lydia Balmos, Andrew Floyd
  • 2005 Josh Copeland
  • 2004 Lindley Sharp, Robbie Cloninger
  • 2003 Shelley Hasty, Brandon Henman
  • 2002 Jason Pagan, Beth Brown
  • 2001 Zachary David Morgan
  • 2000 Ethan Friddle, Amy Grizzle

Baggott Ministerial Award

Endowed by the Rev. and Mrs. James L. Baggott. Annual award in cash or books and medallion to the outstanding graduating ministerial student, based on Christian dedication, leadership, academic record and promise of outstanding service as minister and preacher.

  • 2015 Eileen Brown, Ann Kilpen Snyder
  • 2014 Carrie Siegler, TJ Edwards
  • 2013 Jacob Waldrip
  • 2012 Randy Drafts, Hillary Taylor
  • 2011 Rachel Harriz, Martin Leathers
  • 2010 Scott Parnell, Laura Estep
  • 2009 Tiffany Gibson, Matthew Goodson
  • 2008 Ellen Sizemore, Taylor Cox
  • 2006 Anna Leigh Lovett, Victor Paul Ingalls
  • 2005 Chris Cox, Bailey Edwards
  • 2004 Betsy Neely, Adam Schultz
  • 2003 Alina Kelman, Hudson Neely
  • 2002 David Shirk
  • 2001 Christa Marie McCain
  • 2000 Lauren Taylor

Scholarly Achievement Award

A reference volume "to honor students who have achieved excellence in biblical or theological studies," awarded to the senior religion major(s) with the highest academic average(s).

  • 2015 Laura Krueger, Alexander Pumphrey
  • 2014 James Griscom, Jenna Barnett
  • 2013 Mattson Smith, Catherine Culbertson
  • 2012 Sam Hunley, Susannah Morris
  • 2011 Melissa Carnall, Amanda Pruitt
  • 2010 MaryLeah Friedline, Rebecca Scott
  • 2009 Kayla Wolfe, Sarah Sheehan
  • 2008 Brett McCarty, Adrian Ward
  • 2006 Alicia Belle Wilson
  • 2005 Mark Storslee
  • 2004 Elaine Kelly, Amanda Fowler
  • 2003 Tracy Wells, Hudson Neely
  • 2002 Logan Hambrick, Anna Thurber
  • 2001 Karen Vernice Guth
  • 2000 Carl Gregg, Lori Garland, Keith McCoy

Special Service Award

An ad hoc award for a senior major whom the department wishes to honor for service or achievement falling outside the categories of the above awards.

  • 2003 Marcus Fresia
  • 2000 Mary Catherine Foster, Russ Boyd

The David Anthony Smith Award

This award honors a graduating senior for excellence in the study of world religions and for promotion of inter-religious understanding and dialogue.

  • 2015 Nirav Mathur, Caitlin Russell
  • 2014 Melissa Stewart, Finley Trent
  • 2013 Christine Gwinn
  • 2012 Lauren Anderson, Daniel Spisak
  • 2011 Amanda Pruitt
  • 2009 Maureen Megan
  • 2008 Chamberlyn Kitchens
  • 2006 Halah Aziz Buhaisi, Cara Anne Krueger
  • 2004 Melanie Trexler
  • 2003 Tracy Wells
  • 2001 Talia Rashid Gangoo, Melissa Paige Peterson

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University