Meritorious Teaching and Advising Awards

In 1969, Alester G. Furman Jr. and Janie Earle Furman endowed an annual award for meritorious teaching at Furman University. Over time, the endowment grew to a point whereby Alester G. Furman III approved a second award in 1993 to recognize excellence in advising.

The recipients are selected by an unannounced committee of students, faculty and staff, depending on the award.  The selection is announced at commencement and comes with a cash award and certificate.

Questions concerning the Meritorious Teaching Award should be directed to the dean of the faculty.

2016-2017 Meritorious Advising Award Recipients
2016-2017 Meritorious Teaching Award Recipients