History of NCBI Carolina Diversity Training Coalition

The seeds for the NCBI Carolina Diversity Training Coalition were planted when three Student Affairs staff members at Clemson University participated in an NCBI 5-Day Leadership Training Institute in the fall of 1998. The three returned to Clemson University and applied for (and received) a University grant to fund a 3-Day Train-The-Trainer in the fall of 1999. This core group formed the NCBI Clemson Team, the first NCBI Affiliate in the state of South Carolina. There was also a person at nearby Furman University who was NCBI-trained and this person served as a member-at-large for the Clemson Affiliate until team at Furman University was established.

The Clemson Affiliate formed a partnership with several area schools and applied for an Alliance 2020 Grant to fund another 3-Day Train-the-Trainer in the fall of 2000. The purpose of this training was to assist these area schools in establishing their own NCBI affiliates. The additional schools were: Furman University, Tri-County Technical College, Anderson College, and SC State University (an HBCU). Approximately 45 people attended this Coalition-building Train-the-Trainer.

The Carolina Coalition now consists of eight schools which have established NCBI Affiliates on their campuses: Clemson University, Furman University, North Carolina State University, North Carolina Central University, Piedmont Technical College, Aiken Technical College, Medical University of South Carolina, and Greenville Technical College. The plan is to build the Coalition throughout North and South Carolina, both on the various college campuses as well as in the community.

From its inception until 2008, the Coalition was co-led by the Affiliate Directors from Clemson University (Altheia Richardson) and Furman University (Idella Glenn). They were often called upon serve as consultants for the other campus leaders in matters concerning their Teams and to assist some of the other institutions in the Coalition in conducting initial workshops on their campuses.

In 2008, the Coalition transitioned to a steering committee leadership structure which includes the following positions: Coalition Director, Associate Coalition Director, Technical/Community College Representative, North Carolina Representative, South Carolina Representative and Secretary. Descriptions attached. The primary purpose of the new leadership structure is to prepare more campus affiliate directors to transition smoothly into Coalition leadership. Idella Glenn (Furman) serves as the Coalition Director and Tia Doxey (NCCU) serves as the Associate Coalition Director.

With strong support from Robert Dungey from the National organization, the Carolina NCBI Diversity Training Coalition continues to grow and thrive. Idella Glenn now serves on the national leadership Team for NCBI Campus programs, which provides advice to Cherie Brown, the founder of NCBI.

Updated January 2011

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University