In 1969, Alester G. Furman Jr. and Janie Earle Furman endowed an annual award for meritorious teaching at Furman University. Over time, the endowment grew to a point whereby Alester G. Furman III approved a second award in 1993 to recognize excellence in advising.

The recipients are selected by an unannounced committee of students, faculty and staff, depending on the award.  The selection is announced at commencement and comes with a cash award and certificate.

Questions concerning the Meritorious Teaching Award should be directed to the Dean of the Faculty.

2015-2016 Meritorious Teaching Award Recipients
2015-2016 Meritorious Advising Award Recipients


Connect with Admission

Furman is one of the nation's premier liberal arts and sciences universities. We offer our students The Furman Advantage—an over-arching approach to education that promises every student a four-year personalized pathway, a team of advisors and mentors, and the opportunity for an engaged learning experience that is tracked and integrated with the students' academic and professional goals.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University