Each year, the South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (SCICU) recognizes and celebrates outstanding professors through the Excellence in Teaching Award program. A member of the faculty from each of the twenty members institutions is selected, using criteria determined by each institution. The award recipients are honored at a special dinner and awarded a professional development grant. Below is a list of Furman award recipients since the program’s inauguration in 2006.

Year Recipient Department
2016 Kevin Hutson Mathematics
2015 Leslie W. Hicken Music
2014 Alicia Raby Powers Health Sciences
2013 James L. Guth Political Science
2012 Anne Leen Classics
2011 Victoria L. Turgeon Biology
2010 A. Scott Henderson Education
2009 T. Lloyd Benson History
2008 Charles B. Andersen Earth and Environmental Science
2007 Elizabeth S. Smith Political Science
2006 Gilles O. Einstein Psychology


Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University